Mullerthal Luxembourg's Little Switzerland Feel the strength of rocks

The Mullerthal region known as Mëllerdall in Luxembourgish lies in the East of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. It is often referred to as Luxembourg's Little Switzerland. The region forms an exceptional biotope marked by stunning rock formations. By hiking or climbing, visitors can feel the harmony of an unusual natural area and get an impression of the rocks' strength and stability.

Geological heritage is at the forefront in the Mullerthal Nature Park. In fact, this park is also a Geopark, which shows how important it is to protect landscapes for generations to come. Experience geology through the paths that make up the Mullerthal Trail is a fascinating adventure that you can enjoy on foot or by mountainbike.

Echternach is the capital of the region and the oldest town of Luxembourg. Tangible and intangible heritage combine perfectly. The famous Hopping Procession of Echternach is listed in the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity. In the summer, the Roman villa will delight lovers of ancient history.

Beaufort and Larochette castles will be a dream for the young and old. They were both built on rocks and constitute unparalleled historical sites and unique settings for summer concerts.

Mullerthal, experience geology

The Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall is an invitation to experience geology at its best. The sandstone and dolomite rock strata formed the bottom of a sea 250 to 200 million years ago. After the sea disappeared, today's rivers carved themselves into the rocks and the current landscape emerged, composed of plateaus and deep valleys. Narrow rocky passages and grottos took shape in Luxembourg's sandstones. 

Mesmerising discoveries await you. For example, the 'outlier' mountains that point to the geological past and are scattered across cuesta landscapes. You can also see traces of honeycomb weathering that is highly characteristic of this limestone rock. 

Experienced hikers can discover the region through the 112km of the Mullerthal Trail. The trail is composed of three loops that are interconnected, but which can also be completed separately. Route 2 passes through the centre of the region with its spectacular rock formations: the Wollefsschlucht or wolf's gorge, a very craggy rock where wolves used to hide; or the Pérékop rock, a massive stone block that can be accessed by ladders.

The trail also offers shorter and easier paths that all family members can enjoy. Children or visitors in search of a place to unwind can opt for the Mullterthal Trail Extra Tours or local signposted trails.

Climbing fans are also in for a treat in this region. In fact, climbing is authorised in the rocky cliffs of Wanterbach in Berdorf. If you want to give climbing a go, the Echternach Youth Hostel offers introductory courses for children and adults under a trainer's supervision.

The Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall belongs to the German-Luxembourg Nature Park and thus offer a unique cross-border experience.

The Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall is an invitation to experience geology.
© SIP / YW, all rights reserved
Seasoned hikers can explore the region through the 112km of the Mullerthal Trail.
© SIP / YW, all rights reserved

Echternach, a city with a long history

Echternach has long been a crossroad of cultures. A Roman Villa lies in the outskirts of the city: one of the largest and richest rural properties in Trier's surrounding area, the Roman Augusta Treverorum. Amidst the vastness of agricultural lands, a farm surrounded by walls stretches across over 25 acres of land. This real palace featured no less than 40 and later even 70 rooms on the ground-floor with porches, inner courtyards, water basins, marble facings, floor mosaics and floor heating. Fans of ancient history can explore the mansion and wander through a pergola covered with vines and a Roman garden in which over 70 medicinal and ornamental plants are presented. A must of Luxembourg summers with very enlightening guided tours.

The history of Luxembourg's oldest town is intrinsically linked to the Hopping Procession. It takes place every year on Whit Tuesday, in order to pay tribute to the Irish monk Willibrord (658-739), the founder of Echternach Abbey. The pilgrims form rows of five or six people and, linked by handkerchiefs folded into triangles, move forward by hopping to the rhythm of marching bands that play the folk melody of Adam had Seven Sons. The procession takes them to the alleyways of Echternach, leading them to Willibrord's grave in the crypt of the basilica.

This procession is special because it entails praying with your whole body: walking while hopping to the rhythm of an ever-repeating polka melody represents a unique expression of Christian joy. It owes its UNESCO recognition to its very singular character and the procession has been listed on the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity since 2010.

Willibrord was born in the year 658 in Northumbria, England. He died in 739 in Echternach.
© SIP / YW, all rights reserved
On the outskirts of the town of Echternach is a Roman villa.
© SIP / YW, all rights reserved

The castles: in search of lost time

The ruins of Larochette Castle - which are located on a sandstone promontory - overlook the Valley of the White Ernz, a confluence of the Sûre, by about 150 metres. Imagination gets carried away with the setting of this amazingly restored and reinforced castle: enclosure, ditch, lords of Larochette! The Regional Tourist Office for the Mullerthal region offers a fun-filled knight tour of the castle for 6 to 12-year-olds. Not to be missed!

Beaufort Castle is a unique setting for summer evenings. The courtyard of the Renaissance castle hosts classical and contemporary music concerts. The night falls, the walls of the castle are lit by a myriad of colours and melodies give wings to your mind! From April to November, the castle also offers guided tours that will allow you to discover Luxembourg's ten centuries of history

Last update

Mullerthal la petite Suisse luxembourgeoise
Ressentez la force des rochers

A l’est du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg s’étend la région du Mullerthal, appelée Mëllerdall en luxembourgeois et souvent désignée comme la Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise. La région est un biotope exceptionnel marqué par des formations rocheuses surprenantes. En randonnée ou en escalade, les visiteurs peuvent ressentir l’équilibre d’un espace naturel insolite et s’imprégner de la force et la stabilité des rochers.

Le patrimoine géologique est à l’honneur dans le parc naturel du Mullerthal. En effet, ce parc est aussi un Géoparc, ce qui témoigne de l’importance de la protection du paysage pour les générations futures. Vivre la géologie à travers les sentiers qui composent le Mullerthal Trail est une aventure fascinante qui peut être appréciée à pied ou en VTT.

Echternach est la capitale de la région et la plus ancienne ville du Luxembourg. Le patrimoine matériel et immatériel se combinent à la perfection. La célèbre procession dansante est inscrite  sur la liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’Unesco. En été, la villa romaine fera les délices des amateurs d’histoire ancienne.

Les châteaux de Beaufort et de Larochette feront rêver petits et grands. Erigés tous les deux sur des rochers, ils constituent des sites historiques hors pair et des cadres incomparables de concerts estivaux.

Mullerthal, vivre la géologie

Le parc naturel et géoparc Mëllerdall est une invitation à vivre la géologie. Les strates rocheuses de grès et de dolomite constituaient le fond d’une mer il y a 250 à 200 millions d’années. Après la disparition de la mer, les rivières d’aujourd’hui se sont creusées dans le rocher et le paysage actuel s’est formé, composé de plateaux et de vallées profondes. Des passages rocheux étroits et des grottes se sont formés dans le grès luxembourgeois. 

Des découvertes passionnantes vous attendent. Par exemple, les montagnes "témoins", qui nous réfèrent vers le passé géologique et sont parsemées dans les paysages de cuestas. On voit aussi des traces de l’érosion en nid d’abeille, particulièrement caractéristique dans cette roche calcaire. 

Les randonneurs chevronnés peuvent découvrir la région à travers les 112 km du Mullerthal Trail. Le sentier se compose de trois boucles, reliées entre elles mais qui peuvent aussi être parcourues à part. La route 2 passe par le centre de la région avec ses formations rocheuses spectaculaires: la Wollefsschlucht ou gorge du loup, une roche très escarpée qui servait anciennement de refuge pour les loups; ou encore le rocher Pérékop, un bloc de pierre massif accessible par échelles.

Le parcours propose également des sentiers plus courts et faciles pour tous les membres de la famille. Les plus jeunes ou les visiteurs qui recherchent un espace de détente peuvent parcourir les Mullerthal Trail Extra Tours ou les sentiers locaux balisés.

Les passionnés d’escalade trouveront également leur bonheur dans cette région. En effet, la pratique est autorisée dans les falaises rocheuses du Wanterbach à Berdorf. Si vous voulez vous initier dans cette pratique, l’auberge de jeunesse d’Echternach vous propose des cours d’initiation pour enfants et adultes sous la surveillance d’un entraîneur.

Le parc naturel et géoparc Mëllerdall fait partie du parc naturel germano-luxembourgeois et offre donc également une expérience transfrontalière unique.

Le parc naturel et géoparc Mëllerdall est une invitation à vivre la géologie.
© SIP / YW, tous droits réservés
Les randonneurs chevronnés peuvent découvrir la région à travers les 112km du Mullerthal Trail.
© SIP / YW, tous droits réservés

Echternach, une ville avec une longue histoire

Echternach est depuis longtemps un carrefour de cultures. À la périphérie de la ville se trouve une villa romaine: une des plus grandes et riches propriétés rurales des environs de Trèves, l’Augusta Treverorum romaine. Au milieu de vastes terres agricoles, une ferme entourée de murs s’étend sur plus de 10 hectares. Ce véritable palais ne comptait pas moins de 40, plus tard même 70 pièces au rez-de-chaussée, avec des portiques, des cours intérieures, des bassins d’eau, des placages de marbre, des mosaïques de pavement et un chauffage au sol. Les amateurs d’histoire ancienne peuvent inspecter la maison de maître et flâner à travers une pergola recouverte de vignes et un jardin romain dans lequel sont présentées plus de 70 plantes médicinales et ornementales. Un must des étés luxembourgeois avec des visites guidées très instructives.

L’histoire de la plus ancienne ville de Luxembourg est étroitement liée à la procession dansante. Elle a lieu tous les ans le mardi de Pentecôte en hommage au moine irlandais Willibrord (658-739), fondateur de l’Abbaye d’Echternach. Les pèlerins s’alignent en rang de cinq ou six personnes et, liés par des mouchoirs pliés en triangle, avancent en sautillant, au rythme des fanfares qui jouent la mélodie populaire de Adam avait sept fils. La procession les conduit à travers les ruelles d’Echternach jusque devant la tombe de Willibrord dans la crypte de la basilique.

Ce qui fait la particularité de cette procession, c’est qu’elle permet d’impliquer le corps entier dans la prière: marcher en sautant sur le rythme d’une mélodie de polka sans cesse répétée constitue une expression unique de la joie chrétienne. Ce caractère très singulier lui a valu la reconnaissance de l’Unesco et la procession est inscrite sur la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité depuis 2010.

Willibrord est né en l'an 658 à Northumbria, en Angleterre. Il mourut en 739 à Echternach.
© SIP / YW, tous droits réservés
À la périphérie de la ville d'Echternach se trouve une villa romaine.
© SIP / YW, tous droits réservés

Les châteaux: à la recherche du temps perdu

Les ruines du château de Larochette, situées sur un promontoire du Grés de Luxembourg, dominent d’environ 150m la vallée de l’Ernz blanche, un confluent de la Sûre. Magnifiquement restauré et consolidé, l’imagination s’emballe devant ce décor: enceinte, fossé, seigneurs de Larochette! L’office régional du tourisme région Mullerthal propose un amusant tour du chevalier du château fort pour les enfants de 6 à 12 ans. À ne pas rater!

Le château de Beaufort est un espace unique pour les soirées d’été. La cour du château Renaissance accueille des concerts de musique classique et actuelle. La nuit tombe, les murs du château sont illuminés de mille couleurs et les mélodies font voler les esprits! Entre avril et novembre, le château propose également des visites guidées qui permettront la découverte de dix siècles d’histoire du Luxembourg. 

Dernière modification le