The tourist region of the Ardennes is set in the North of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. It is known as Éislek for Luxembourgers, and as Oesling for Germans. The region is incredibly vibrant and invites visitors to be active with both their body and mind.

The Ardennes region's vitality is reflected in many elements. Featuring two nature reserves and Luxembourg's largest lake, the region is a real nature temple for hikers. In fact, almost half of Luxembourg's woodlands are to be found there.

Breathtaking castles, including Vianden and Bourscheid castles, are located in this special natural area. Bearing witness to history, their medieval summer festivals will delight young and old alike.

In the Ardennes, culture is also at the forefront. The festival of Wiltz is a festival not-to-be missed in July. Photography lovers will enjoy the wonderful exhibition The Family of Man at Clervaux Castle.

Remembrance tourism holds a special place in this region of Luxembourg. A large number of sites, monuments and museums pay tribute to those who fought for freedom, in particular as part of the Battle of the Ardennes.

All year long, what the Ardennes has in store will thrill nature lovers, history buffs, art and music lovers, as well as those enthused by tradition. Follow us!

The Ardennes - naturally active

One of the best ways to discover this green landscape is the hiking trails, such as the ones that go through the nature reserves. The Our Natural Park and the Haute-Sûre Natural Park offer routes for all tastes and levels! The German-Luxembourg Nature Park offers a unique cross-border experience in an area where local sustainable development is the top priority.

If you are keen on long distances, you can use the Escapardenne Lee Trail and the Éislek Trail, which cover 159km. This trail was ranked among 'Leading Quality Trails - Best of Europe', a European quality label awarded by the European Ramblers Association. Eight train stations run along the trail between Ettelbruck and Troisvierges, and offer opportunities to adapt the trail to families and children. Since 2019, the Éislek Regional Tourist Office offers Rail&Trail, a walking adventure to discover the region actively and without stress.

If you are keen on more strenuous sports, you could take part in the Wämper Triathlon. The event takes place in Weiswampach in August and features an Olympic distance triathlon: 1.5 km of swimming, 40 km of cycling and a 10K run.

After these sport activities, why not unwind in the Lake of the Upper Sûre? The Upper Sûre Lake is 1km West from Esch-sur-Sûre, in the middle of the Upper Sûre Nature Park. It consists of a wonderful leisure and bathing area during the bathing season (from May to September). 

The Lake of the Upper Sûre is a superb leisure and swimming area during the bathing season.
© SIP / YW, all rights reserved
Numerous sites, monuments and museums pay homage to those who fought for freedom during the Second World War.
© SIP / YW, all rights reserved

The castles: history, dreams and culture

The Ardennes region's castles are truly unique places where history, culture and dreams blend in perfectly.

Vianden Castle is one of the largest and most beautiful feudal abodes dating back to the Roman and Gothic eras in Europe. It was built between the 11th and 14th century and has belonged to the State since 1977. It has been restored to its former glory: its towers and ramparts will be magical for the young and old alike. In the summer, the castle hosts the Knights Festival. For over a week, visitors can discover medieval features with knight camps, fire and battle shows, jugglers, troubadours as well as demonstrations of calligraphy and birds of prey.

Each summer, fans of concerts, theatre nights and art performances are expected at Wiltz Castle. The amphitheatre hosts the Wiltz Festival, featuring international artists, Luxembourg premieres and hybrid productions combining various arts. Shows are available for all audiences!

As for Clervaux Castle, it offers a remarkable collection of documentary art photographs: The Family of Man. The collection comprises 503 photographs taken by 273 people from 68 countries and brought together by Edward Steichen for the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York. The exhibition is a manifesto for peace and the fundamental equality of human beings, crafted through humanistic post-war photography. It was presented for the very first time in 1955 and, after circling the globe, Clervaux Castle became its permanent abode in 1994. Since 2003, it has been included in the UNESCO's Memory of the World Register

© Office régional du tourisme Ardennes luxembourgeoises, all rights reserved

Visit Éislek App: connected tourism is advancing fast

At the beginning of 2020, the Regional tourist board of the Ardennes launched the free application Visit Éislek for smartphones and tablets. It presents several tour routes, emblematic places, restaurants, museums and accommodation on an interactive map with filtering function.

All the events and tourist offers of the region in one click!

The Ardennes - a memorial in itself

When looking at history, one of the biggest ordeals that Luxembourg had to face was World War II. In the last months of the war, the Battle of the Bulge ravaged the North of Luxembourg, leaving marks behind up to this very day.

Today, many sites, monuments and museums pay tribute to those who fought for freedom. Wiltz Castle is home to the Museum of the Battle of the Bulge. In this duty of remembrance, monuments are erected in several places in the region. These historical sites can also be explored on foot. In the vicinity of Wiltz, for example, the 1944-1945 Schumanns Eck remembrance walk ('sentier du souvenir'), covering 2.8km, lets you discover the surroundings of the battlefield. Local operators such as Gaul's Legacy Tours - which specialises in remembrance tourism - can also organise tailor-made tours.

Last update

Au nord du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg s’étend la région touristique des Ardennes, appelée Éislek par les Luxembourgeois et Oesling par les Allemands. La région dévoile un énorme dynamisme et invite les visiteurs à garder le corps et l’esprit actifs.

La vitalité des Ardennes se reflète dans de nombreux domaines. Avec deux parc naturels et le plus grand lac du Luxembourg, la région est un véritable temple de la nature pour les randonneurs. En effet, presque la moitié des surfaces boisées du pays s’y retrouvent!

Dans cet espace naturel privilégié se trouvent aussi des châteaux saisissants, dont les châteux splendides de Vianden et de Bourscheid. Témoins de l’histoire, leurs festivals médiévaux d’été combleront petits et grands publics.

La culture est également à l’honneur dans les Ardennes. Le festival de Wiltz est un incontournable luxembourgeois du mois de juillet. Les passionnées de photographie apprécieront au château de Clervaux la magnifique exposition The Family of Man.

Le tourisme de mémoire est une particularité de cette région luxembourgeoise. Des nombreux sites, monuments et musées rendent hommage à ceux qui se sont battus pour la liberté, notamment lors de la bataille des Ardennes.

Tout le long de l’année, l’offre diversifiée des Ardennes ravira passionnés de nature, amateurs d’histoire et inconditionnels d’art, musique et traditions. Suivez-nous!

Les Ardennes, naturellement actives

L’une des meilleures façons de découvrir cette contrée verdoyante est en empruntant ses sentiers de randonnée, par exemple à travers les parcs naturels. Le parc naturel de l’Our et le parc naturel de la Haute-Sûre proposent des parcours pour tous les goûts et tous les niveaux! Le parc naturel germano-luxembourgeois offre une expérience transfrontalière unique dans un espace où le développement local durable est à la une.

Les amateurs de longues distances peuvent emprunter l’Escapardenne Lee Trail et Éislek Trail sur une longueur de 159km. Ce chemin est pourvu du label européen de qualité Leading Quality Trails – Best of Europe, décernée par la Fédération européenne de la randonnée pédestre. Entre Ettelbruck et Troisvierges, huit gares ferroviaires longent le sentier et offrent des possibilités d’adapter le circuit aux familles et enfants. Depuis 2019, l’Office régional du tourisme de l’Éislek propose le Rail&Trail, une aventure pédestre pour découvrir la région de façon active mais sans stress.

Les amateurs de sports plus exigeants peuvent participer au Wämper Triathlon. L’évènement a lieu au mois d’août à Weiswampach et propose un triathlon distance olympique: 1,5km de natation, 40km de vélo et 10km de course à pied.

Pour se ressourcer après ces activités sportives, rien de plus agréable qu’une halte dans le lac de la Haute-Sûre. Il se trouve à 1km à l’ouest d’Esch-sur-Sûre, au centre du Parc naturel de la Haute-Sûre. Il constitue un superbe domaine de loisirs et de baignade pendant la saison balnéaire, de mai à septembre. 

Le lac de la Haute-Sûre constitue un superbe domaine de loisirs et de baignade pendant la saison balnéaire.
© SIP / YW, tous droits réservés
De nombreux sites, monuments et musées rendent hommage à ceux qui se sont battus pour la liberté lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
© SIP / YW, tous droits réservés

Les châteaux: histoire, rêves et culture

Les châteaux des Ardennes sont des espaces uniques où l’histoire, la culture et les rêves se combinent à la perfection.

Le château de Vianden est une des plus grandes et plus belles résidences féodales des époques romane et gothique en Europe. Construit pendant la période du 11e au 14e siècles, il est domaine de l’État depuis 1977. Il a été restauré dans le respect des formes historiques: ses tours et remparts feront rêver petits et grands. En été, le château organise le Festival des Chevaliers. Pendant plus d’une semaine, les visiteurs découvrent une animation médiévale avec des camps de chevaliers, des spectacles de feu et de bataille, des jongleurs, des chanteurs de mine, des démonstrations de calligraphie et d’oiseaux de proie.

Chaque été, les passionnés de concerts, soirées théâtre et performances artistiques ont un rendez-vous au château de Wiltz. L’amphithéâtre accueille le Festival de Wiltz avec des artistes internationaux, des premières luxembourgeoises et des productions hybrides combinant différents arts. Les spectacles pour tous les publics sont assurés!

De son côté, le château de Clervaux propose une remarquable collection de photos artistiques documentaires: The Family of Man. La collection se compose de 503 photographies de 273 auteurs originaires de 68 pays, rassemblées par Edward Steichen pour le Museum of Modern Art de New York (MOMA). L’exposition est un manifeste pour la paix et l’égalité fondamentale des hommes à travers la photographie humaniste d’après-guerre. Elle a été présentée pour la première fois en 1955 et, après un voyage autour du monde, l’exposition a été installée en 1994 de façon permanente au château de Clervaux. Depuis 2003, elle fait partie des documents inscrits dans le registre de la Mémoire du monde de l’Unesco.

© Office régional du tourisme Ardennes luxembourgeoises, tous droits réservés

Visit Éislek App: le tourisme connecté avance à grand pas

Début 2020, l’Office régional du tourisme Ardennes luxembourgeoises a lancé l’application gratuite Visit Éislek pour smartphones et tablettes. Elle présente plusieurs circuits de visites, les lieux emblématiques, les restaurants, les musées et les hébergements sur une carte interactive avec fonction de filtrage.

Tous les évènements et offres touristiques de la région en un clic!

Les Ardennes, un lieu de mémoire

La Seconde Guerre mondiale est une des plus grandes épreuves de l’existence du Luxembourg. Aux derniers mois de la guerre, la bataille des Ardennes ravage le nord du Luxembourg, laissant des traces à nos jours.

Aujourd’hui, de nombreux sites, monuments et musées rendent hommage à ceux qui se sont battus pour la liberté. Le château de Wiltz accueille le musée sur la bataille des Ardennes. Dans ce devoir de mémoire, des monuments sont érigés à plusieurs endroits de la région. Ces lieux historiques peuvent également être parcourus à pied. Près de Wiltz, par exemple, le sentier du souvenir 1944-1945 Schumanns Eck, d’une longueur de 2,8km, permet aux visiteurs de découvrir les alentours du champ de bataille. Des visites sur mesure peuvent également être organisées par des opérateurs locaux, comme Gaul’s Legacy Tours, spécialisé en tourisme de mémoire.

Dernière modification le