The Chamber of Deputies

The Chamber of Deputies is the parliament of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Its 60 members are elected by popular suffrage every five years. It is here that the laws and regulations influencing daily life are voted - as such, the Chamber of Deputies fulfills a very important function in Luxembourg's legislative system.

Legislative Power

The Grand Duchy has a unicameral parliamentary system and accordingly the exercise of legislative power is vested in the Chamber of Deputies.

As the principal body of the legislative process, the Chamber of Deputies has the duty to vote on bills presented by the government, or on bills submitted on a parliamentary initiative by one or more deputies.

The Constitution also reserves to the Parliament certain powers in financial matters and gives it a right to examine the government's actions. By means of parliamentary questions or interpellations, the Chamber of Deputies also fulfils the function of overseer of the executive power.

Finally, in international affairs, the concurrence of Parliament is required for a treaty to take effect in the territory of the Grand Duchy. At European Union level, the Chamber of Deputies also takes part in the decision-making process.

Parliament convenes in the capital at the Krautmaart (Marché aux herbes) and its meetings are generally public.

The political parties represented in Parliament (2023-2028):

  • Christian Social People's Party (CSV): 21 MPs
  • Democratic Party (DP): 14 MPs
  • Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP): 11 MPs
  • Alternative Democratic Reform Party (ADR): 5 MPs
  • The Green Party (Déi Gréng): 4 MPs
  • Pirate Party (Piraten): 3 MPs
  • The Left (déi Lénk): 2 MPs

Last update