Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis Rewarding the best contributions to the Luxembourg film and audiovisual industry

The tenth edition of the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis took place on 11 November 2023 at the Grand Théâtre in Luxembourg City. At the ceremony, prizes were awarded in 13 categories. Read on to discover this year's winners and find out more about the Luxembourg film awards.

A democratic voting system

The Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis rewards the best contributions to the Luxembourg film and audiovisual industry It showcases outstanding works, fosters creativity in Luxembourg, promotes the development of the local film industry and draws the attention of a wider public to productions made in the Grand Duchy.

The jury votes by secret ballot in two rounds online. The jury is composed of the 400 members of the Filmakademie, all of whom are professionals in the audiovisual and film industry in Luxembourg. During the first round of voting, up to five nominees are selected for each category. The winners are chosen in the second round of voting.

The "Best XR Work" category is the only one to be decided by an ad hoc jury. 

In 2023, a special press prize, not awarded by the Académie, was presented by the Luxembourg Film Press Association. (ALPC).

© Filmakademie, Yann Tonnar

The winners are presented with statuettes produced by the Luxembourg artist Patricia Lippert.  

The 13 categories and the selected winners

Prize for Best Original Music:

André Dziezuk for "Icare"

Prize for Best Creative Contribution to an Animated Work:

Loïc Collignon (Sound) for "My Love Affair with Marriage"


Prize for Best Creative Contribution to a Work of Fiction or Documentary:

Amandine Klee (Image) for "Kommunioun"

Prize for Best Female Performance:

Vicky Krieps in "Corsage"

Prize for Best Male Performance:

Marc Limpach in "Hinterland"


Best Transmedia Series or Production:

"Filmreakter Quickies", series directed by Eileen Byrne, Suzan Noesen, Max Jacoby, Pattrawan Sukmongkol, Larisa Faber, Kim Schneider, Nilton Martins, Frédérique Buck, Gintare Parulyte, Adolf El Assal, Catherine Dauphin, Godefroy Gordet, Govinda Van Maele, Nicolas Neuhold, Samuel Perez, Julie Schroell, Baptiste Ménage, Thierry Mousset and Nadia Masri; produced by Filmreakter asbl

Best Short Film:

"La Valise rouge", directed by Cyrus Neshvad and produced by Cynefilms 


Prize for Best Animated Co-Production Feature Film:

"Where is Anne Frank", directed by Ari Folman and co-produced by Samsa Film

Prize for Best Fiction or Documentary Co-Production Feature Film:

"Corsage", directed by Marie Kreutzer and co-produced by Samsa Film 

Prize for Best Feature-Length Luxembourgish Documentary:

"Michel Majerus – Next Step", directed by Anne Schiltz and produced by Samsa Film

Prize for Best Luxembourgish Fiction or Animated Feature Film:

"Kommunioun", directed by Jacques Molitor and produced by Les Films Fauves

Prize for Best XR (extended reality) Work:

"Missing Pictures" by Clément Deneux, a co-production with Wild Fang Films

Press prize, not awarded by the Academy:

"Les Intranquilles" by Joachim Lafosse produced by Samsa Film

10 editions already!

The first edition of the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis took place in 2003, under the joint venture of public authorities, the Association of Film Technicians (ALTA), the Association of Filmmakers and Scriptwriters (LARS), the Association of Actors and the Producers Association (ULPA). The biennial event was organised by the Film Fund Luxembourg until 2014. Since then, the Luxembourg film awards have been organised in collaboration with the Filmakademie. The roles are clearly defined: the Film Fund coordinates the award ceremony and the academy organises the voting

© Film Fund Luxembourg

If you are a member of one of the founding associations, a stakeholder in the film or audiovisual industry, head of a cultural film institute, a specialist teacher, a film critic, a festival director or a cinema operator, you are eligible to join the Filmakademie. Register here!