The Chamber of Deputies The 60 members of the Luxembourg parliament represent the country and its population.

The Chamber of Deputies (Chambre des députés) is the only parliament of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. It is composed of 60 members, called 'deputies' (députés).  The members of the Chamber of Deputies are  elected for a five-year term by means of mixed one-person-one-vote suffrage, according to the rules of proportional representation.

The last parliamentary elections in the Grand Duchy were held on 14 October 2018. The next parliamentary elections are going to take place in 2023.

Legislative Power

The Grand Duchy has a unicameral parliamentary system  and accordingly the exercise of legislative power is vested in the Chamber of Deputies.

As the principal body of the legislative process, the Chamber of Deputies has the duty of voting on bills presented by the government, or on bills submitted on a parliamentary initiative by one or more deputies.

The Constitution also reserves to the Parliament certain powers in financial matters and gives it a right to examine the government's actions. By means of parliamentary questions or interpellations, the Chamber of Deputies also fulfils the function of overseer of the executive power.

Finally, in international affairs, the concurrence of Parliament is required for a treaty to take effect in the territory of the Grand Duchy. At European Union level, the Chamber of Deputies also takes part in the decision-making process.

Parliament convenes in the  capital  at the Krautmaart (Marché aux herbes) and its meetings are generally public.

The political parties represented in Parliament (2018-2023):

Christian Social People's Party (CSV): 21 MPs

Democratic Party (DP): 12 MPs

Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP): 10 MPs

The Green  Party (Déi Gréng): 9 MPs

Alternativ Demokratesch Reformpartei (ADR): 4 MPs

The Left (déi Lénk): 2 MPs

Pirate Party (Piraten): 2 MPs

Last update