Global competitiveness report 2019 Luxembourg, the 18th most competitive country in the world

The World Economic Forum (WEF) published in early October a new edition of its annual study of the competitiveness of 141 countries around the world: the Global competitiveness report. The purpose of this report is to assess the potential of global economies to achieve sustained growth in the medium and long term.

The changing nature of economic competitiveness in a world increasingly transformed by new digital technologies is creating a new set of challenges for governments and businesses. For this reason, since last year's edition (2018), the WEF report has used a new methodology to capture the dynamics of the global economy in these times of the fourth industrial revolution. Indeed, according to the authors of the report, many of the factors that will have the greatest impact on competitiveness in the future have never been at the center of major policy decisions in the past. These include idea creation, entrepreneurial culture, openness and agility.

 

The Global Competitiveness Index (GCI) assesses all the factors that determine an economy's level of productivity - considered to be the most important factor determining long-term growth. The framework is built around 12 main productivity factors that are equipweighted. These pillars are as follows: Institutions, Infrastructure, Ability to integrate technology, Macroeconomic stability, Health, Education and skills, Goods market, Labour market, Financial system, Market size, Business dynamism and Innovation.

The 2019 world ranking is led by Singapore (84.8), the United States (83.7) and Hong Kong (83.1). Luxembourg ranks 18th in the world (77.0). The Netherlands ranks 4th (82.4), Germany 7th (81.8), France 15th (78.8) and Belgium 22nd (76.4).

The ranking within the European Union is led by the Netherlands, Germany and Sweden (81.2). Luxembourg ranks 8th in the European Union.

(Translated by the editorial team of Luxembourg.lu)

Last update

Global competitiveness report 2019 Luxemburg, das 18. wettbewerbsfähigste Land der Welt

Das Weltwirtschaftsforum (WEF) hat Anfang Oktober eine neue Ausgabe seiner jährlichen Studie über die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von 141 Ländern auf der ganzen Welt veröffentlicht: den Global competitiveness report. Ziel dieses Berichts ist es, das Potenzial der Weltwirtschaft zu bewerten, ein mittel- und langfristig ein nachhaltiges Wachstum zu erzielen.

Der Wandel der wirtschaftlichen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit in einer Welt, die sich zunehmend durch neue digitale Technologien verändert, stellt Regierungen und Unternehmen vor neue Herausforderungen. Aus diesem Grund hat der WEF-Bericht seit der letztjährigen Ausgabe (2018) mit einer neuen Methodik die Dynamik der Weltwirtschaft in diesen Zeiten der vierten industriellen Revolution erfasst. Nach Ansicht der Verfasser des Berichts standen nämlich viele der Faktoren, die in Zukunft die größten Auswirkungen auf die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit haben werden, in der Vergangenheit noch nie im Mittelpunkt wichtiger politischer Entscheidungen. Dazu gehören Ideenfindung, unternehmerische Kultur, Offenheit und Agilität.

 

Der Global Competitiveness Index (GCI) bewertet alle Faktoren, die das Produktivitätsniveau einer Volkswirtschaft bestimmen - er gilt als der wichtigste Faktor für das langfristige Wachstum. Der Rahmen besteht aus 12 Hauptproduktivitätsfaktoren, die gewichtet sind. Diese Säulen sind wie folgt aufgebaut: Institutionen, Infrastruktur, Fähigkeit zur Integration von Technologie, makroökonomische Stabilität, Gesundheit, Bildung und Qualifikation, Gütermarkt, Arbeitsmarkt, Finanzsystem, Marktgröße, Geschäftsdynamik und Innovation.

Die Weltrangliste 2019 wird von Singapur (84,8), den Vereinigten Staaten (83,7) und Hongkong (83,1) angeführt. Luxemburg liegt weltweit an 18. Stelle (77,0). Die Niederlande liegen auf Platz 4 (82,4), Deutschland auf Platz 7 (81,8), Frankreich auf Platz 15 (78,8) und Belgien auf Platz 22 (76,4).

Das Ranking innerhalb der Europäischen Union wird von den Niederlanden, Deutschland und Schweden angeführt (81,2). Luxemburg liegt in der Europäischen Union an 8. Stelle.

(Übersetzung durch das Redaktions-Team Luxembourg.lu)

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am