Family benefits

Entitlement to family benefits varies according to family circumstances, employment, residence, etc. For example, cross-border workers can claim family allowances according to their employment circumstances or those of their spouse, whether or not their children live at home, etc.

To find out if you are entitled to claim any benefit, it is best to apply directly to the Future Fund (CAE, Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants), and to provide details of your personal circumstances.

The CAE is the public establishment which manages all family benefits in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Its yearly budget is over 1.1 billion euros.

Overview of family benefits

Change of regime: as of 1 August 2016, the system of family benefits has changed with the creation of the Future Fund (CAE, Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants). Benefits obtainable under the former regime are listed at the end of this page.

Birth allowance

The birth allowance is paid to women who have undergone proper surveillance and monitoring during pregnancy and birth, and have had their child monitored up to the age of two years, by means of compulsory medical examinations, with medical certificates as proof.

The birth allowance on the website of the CAE.

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for the birth allowance', please consult the Citizens' Portal.

Allowance for the future of the children

The allowance for the future of the children as a personal right of the resident child, i.e. a child who has its legal residence in Luxembourg, and resides there permanently and effectively. In order to benefit from this system, which entered into effect on 1 August 2016, the child must have been born on that date or later, the applicant must have started working in Luxembourg on that date or later, or the applicant must have settled in Luxembourg on that date or later.

Allowance for the future of the children on the website of the CAE.

Back-to-school allowance

A back-to-school allowance is paid in August to parents of children over the age of 6 years accepted in primary education. The allowance is intended to help with the extra expense incurred by the start of the school year. The amount of the allowance varies according to the age of the child. It ceases to be paid in the calendar year during which the child ends secondary or technical secondary education.

The back-to-school allowance on the website of the CAE.

Special additional allowance for a disabled child

The additional allowance for a disabled child is a financial aid in respect of the additional expenses incurred by reason of the handicap of the child. This monthly benefit is granted for disabled children and is paid in addition to the standard family allowances.

The special additional allowance on the website of the CAE.

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for the special additional allowance for a disabled child', please consult the Citizens' Portal.

Allowances under the former regime

Are elegible for allowances under the former regime those whose child was born before 1 August 2016, who started working in Luxembourg before that date, or who settled in Luxembourg before that date.

Family allowances

Family allowances are financial benefits intended to help couples bring up their children by offsetting the family charges, i.e. the financial costs linked to the upbringing and education of the child.

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for family allowances', please consult the Citizens' portal.

Tax bonus for a child

The tax bonus for a child ('boni pour enfant') is calculated on an annual basis. The amount of the bonus depends on social circumstances.

For details of the procedure for 'Obtaining certain tax advantages in respect of a dependent child / dependent children', please consult the Citizens' Portal.
  • Updated 23-09-2016

Prestations familiales

Les prestations familiales s'appliquent différemment selon votre situation familiale, professionnelle, de résidence, etc. A titre d'exemple, un travailleur frontalier peut prétendre aux allocations familiales selon sa situation de travail, selon la situation de travail de son conjoint, selon la résidence ou non de ses enfants dans le ménage et ainsi de suite.

Afin de savoir si vous avez droit à l'une ou l'autre prestation, il vaut mieux vous adresser directement à la Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants (CAE, "Zukunftskeess") en exposant votre situation personnelle.

Au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, la CAE est l’établissement public qui gère l’ensemble des prestations familiales au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Son budget annuel dépasse 1,1 milliards d'euros.

Aperçu sur les prestations familiales

Changement de régime: au 1er août 2016, le système des prestations familiales a changé avec la création d'une Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants (CAE). Les prestations sous l'ancien régime sont énumérées en fin de page.

L'allocation de naissance

L'allocation de naissance est allouée aux femmes qui ont assuré, via examens obligatoires et certificats médicaux à l'appui, une surveillance et un suivi médical régulier de leur grossesse, de l'accouchement et par la suite de leur enfant jusqu'à l'âge de 2 ans.

L'allocation de naissance sur le site de la CAE.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander l'allocation de naissance" sur le portail Citoyens.

L'allocation pour l'avenir des enfants

L'allocation pour l'avenir des enfants est un droit personnel de l'enfant résident, à condition d'avoir un domicile légal au Luxembourg et d'y résider de manière continue et effective. Pour être bénéficiaire de ce système, qui est entré en vigueur au 1er août 2016, il faut que l'enfant soit né à cette date ou après, que la personne qui fait la demande ait commencé à travailler au Luxembourg à cette date ou après, ou que la personne qui fait la demande se soit installée au Luxembourg à cette date ou après.

L'allocation pour l'avenir des enfants sur le site de la CAE.

L'allocation de rentrée scolaire

Une allocation de rentrée scolaire est accordée au mois d'août en faveur des enfants âgés de 6 ans au moins admis à l'enseignement primaire. Cette allocation est destinée à alléger les dépenses extraordinaires liées à la rentrée des classes. Le montant de l'allocation change selon l'âge de l'enfant. Elle cesse et n'est plus versée pendant l'année civile au cours de laquelle les études secondaires ou secondaires techniques sont clôturées.

L'allocation de rentrée scolaire sur le site de la CAE.

Allocation spéciale supplémentaire pour enfant handicapé

L’allocation supplémentaire pour enfant handicapé constitue une aide financière visant les dépenses supplémentaires occasionnées par le handicap de l’enfant. Cette prestation mensuelle est accordée aux enfants handicapés, en supplément des allocations familiales proprement dites.

L'allocation spéciale supplémentaire sur le site de la CAE.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander l'allocation supplémentaire pour enfant handicapé" sur le portail Citoyens.

Allocations sous l'ancien régime

Sont éligibles pour les allocations sous l'ancien régime ceux dont l'enfant est né avant le 1eraoût 2016, qui ont commencé à travailler au Luxembourg avant cette date, ou qui se sont installés au Luxembourg avant cette date.

Les allocations familiales

Les allocations familiales sont des prestations financières destinées à aider les ménages à élever leurs enfants en compensant les charges familiales, c'est-à-dire les frais financiers liés à l'entretien et l’éducation de l’enfant.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander les allocations familiales" sur le portail Citoyens.

Boni pour enfant

Le boni pour enfant est une modération d'impôt pour enfant, calculée sur une base annuelle. Pour le montant du boni pour enfant, il y a lieu de se référer aux paramètres sociaux.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Bénéficier de certains avantages fiscaux en raison d'enfant(s) à charge" sur le portail Citoyens.
  • Mis à jour le 31-07-2018