Childcare Service Vouchers

Because children who are well cared for from a very early age are stronger
Chèques service accueil

If you work and are responsible for one or more children, childcare can be a real challenge. The Grand Duchy has understood the substantial financial needs of parents who want to combine pursuing their professional careers with bringing up their children, particularly while the children are very young. Luxembourg has also understood that offering all children equal opportunities at the outset means providing them with access to the same chances for success, whatever their social background.

That's why the Luxembourg state provides all residents and all non-resident employees with financial assistance for having their children looked after in childcare structures. This takes the form of childcare service vouchers, called 'Chèques service accueil' (CSA), available for all children between the ages of 0 and 12 years. These vouchers can be used as payment in kind for childcare services, as well as a number of extra-curricular activities.

Quality and affordable childcare for all

The CSA system is for all children of parents residing in the Grand Duchy and for the children of cross-border employees, under the condition that they are citizens of an EU member state and at least one of the parents works in the Grand Duchy. Its aim is to make it easier for parents to combine their private lives and their work, and to ensure high-quality care for all children in approved structures that are subject to quality controls.

Through the CSA system, the state pays part of the cost of childcare, either in nurseries, childcare centres ('Maisons relais'), day-care centres, or the 'parental assistant' scheme, if the structure is approved as a service provider by the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth (Ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse, MENJE). In addition, all children between the ages of 0 and 4 years have the benefit of 20 hours of care free of charge in an approved childhood structure (excluding the 'parental assistant' scheme) to ensure their inclusion in the plurilingual education programme.

Are your children budding musicians, artists or soccer players? CSA cheques can also be used to pay for their musical, artistic or sport activities. Just ask the association when you enrol your child to find out whether it is approved as a CSA Service Provider ('Prestataire').

Fair scale for payment

As for the parents' financial contributions, the Luxembourg state has introduced a graduated scale based on the parents' income and the number of hours of childcare they use. This means that parents on a low income are entitled to more hours of childcare at a cheaper rate that high-earning parents.

How do I sign up?

Do you meet the conditions? To be able to use the CSA system, just apply for a membership card (myCard) from your local authority if you live in the Grand Duchy, or from the Children's Future Fund (Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants, CAE) if you are employed in the Grand Duchy but do not live there.

  • Updated 26-02-2019

Chèques-service accueil

Parce que les enfants bien encadrés dès le plus jeune âge sont plus forts
Chèques service accueil

Si vous travaillez et que vous avez un ou plusieurs enfants à charge, faire garder votre enfant est un défi. Le Luxembourg a compris le besoin financier important des parents qui désirent concilier la poursuite de leur carrière professionnelle à l’éducation de leurs enfants, surtout quand ceux-ci sont de bas âge. Au Luxembourg, on a aussi compris qu’offrir à tous les enfants les mêmes chances de départ équivaut à leur donner accès aux mêmes opportunités de réussite, quel que soit leur milieu d’origine.

C’est pour cette raison que l’Etat luxembourgeois garantit à chaque résident et aux salariés non-résidents une aide financière pour faire garder leurs enfants dans des structures d’accueil. Ces chèques service accueil (CSA) s’adressent à tous les enfants de 0 à 12 ans et concernent le paiement en nature des gardes d’enfants, ainsi que de certaines activités extra-scolaires.

Un encadrement qualitatif et abordable pour tous

Le système CSA s’adresse à tous les enfants de parents résidents, ainsi qu’aux enfants de salariés transfrontaliers, sous condition que ceux-ci sont issus d’un pays membre de l’UE et qu’au moins un des parents travaille au Luxembourg. Son but est de permettre aux parents de mieux concilier vie privée et vie professionnelle et de garantir à tous les enfants un encadrement de haute qualité dans des structures conventionnées et soumises à des contrôles de qualité.

Par le système CSA, l’Etat participe aux frais d’accueil des enfants, que ce soit dans les crèches, les maisons relais, les foyers ou les assistants parentaux, si la structure en question est reconnue comme prestataire par le ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse (MENJE). En outre, tous les enfants de 1 à 4 ans bénéficient de 20 heures d’accueil gratuit dans une des structures d’accueil reconnues (hormis les assistants parentaux) pour leur garantir de participer au programme d’éducation plurilingue.

Votre enfant découvre son talent pour la musique, les arts ou le foot? Les CSA peuvent aussi être utilisés pour financer ses activités musicales, artistiques ou sportives. Il suffit de se renseigner auprès de l’association respective lors de l’inscription de l’enfant pour savoir si celle-ci est reconnue comme "Prestataire CSA".

Un échelonnement équitable

En ce qui concerne la participation des parents aux frais, l’Etat luxembourgeois a introduit un échelonnement entre autres en fonction du revenu et du nombre d’heures de garde auxquels les parents ont recours. Ainsi, les parents à revenu modeste ont droit à plus d’heures de garde à un tarif plus avantageux que les parents à revenu important.

Comment adhérer?

Vous remplissez les conditions? Pour avoir accès aux CSA, il suffit de demander une carte d’adhésion (myCard) auprès de l’administration communale pour les parents résidents, respectivement auprès de la Caisse pour l’avenir des enfants (CAE) pour les salariés non-résidents.

  • Mis à jour le 15-11-2018