Guttland - take some time to slow down

© SIP
The tourist region of Guttland lies in the centre and west of Luxembourg. Delightful villages, imposing castles and fortresses, farms and restored country estates are set in a picturesque backdrop on the outskirts of the capital.

Guttland is the perfect place for indulging in spot of slow tourism. Hundreds of kilometres of footpaths and cycle tracks criss-cross pristine landscapes, encouraging green mobility. Examples of the region's historical heritage are everywhere, whether in the "Valley of the Seven Castles", at the many Gallo-Roman sites or in the fascinating rural museums.

Easily accessible from Luxembourg City by public transport, this charming and varied region will delight walkers, cyclists, young people and families alike.

A journey through time

© Office régional du tourisme (ORT) Guttland (ORTCO), tous droits réservés
A trip to Guttland is like taking a step back in time. History enthusiasts will marvel at the many prehistoric and ancient sites that have been opened up for visitors. The Miecher Roman villa in Goeblange guides visitors through the different stages in its construction, beginning in the 1st century AD and continuing with its transformation into a civilian fortification in the late 3rd century before it was abandoned towards the end of the 4th century during the upheavals of the Barbarian invasions. On the outskirts of Luxembourg City, near Walferdange, stands the Raschpëtzer qanat, an impressive underground aqueduct dating from the Roman period, which still collects water today.

The Eisch Valley, also known as the Valley of the Seven Castles, is one of the country's prime tourist attractions. It is named after its seven castles: Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels, the old and new castles of Ansembourg, Septfontaines and Koerich. Nowadays, the historical castles in the Guttland region are regularly brought to life with markets and festivities held all year round. One example is the medieval festival near Useldange Castle, which also boasts a cultural trail developed under the patronage of UNESCO.

Natural surroundings that encourage slow tourism and sport

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
Those who enjoy walking and cycling can also explore the Valley of the Seven Castles via the national hiking trail, a 37km route linking Gaichel and Mersch through peaceful countryside. The region also has several themed trails that often reveal surprising secrets: art in the forest in Stafelter (Walferdange) and the Luxembourg stages of the Way of St James.

Keen cyclists will also find plenty to do in Guttland. Several cycle paths cross through the region, and fans of Charly Gaul, the Luxembourg cyclist who won the Tour de France in 1958, can even follow the path named after him.

Villages, traditions and innovation

Guttland offers a beguiling blend of ancient and modern, as reflected in the wide range of innovative, sustainable projects under way in the region.

© SIP / Marc Schoentgen
The Thillenvogtei rural museum offers a glimpse of what it was like to live and work in the countryside in past centuries. Younger visitors can learn how to thresh grain, harvest potatoes and bake bread, or sit on the benches of an old school house. The Vitarium is a new experience that will particularly appeal to families: visitors can find out all about milk and see how different dairy products are produced at the Luxlait plant. The Beckerich water mill offers guided tours about renewable energy sources and sustainable development. For the traditional Éimaischen, hundreds of Péckvillercher, typically Luxembourgish trilling clay birds, are on display and available to buy in Nospelt.

A local curiosity can be found in the canton of Redange, which has its own regional currency, the Beki. This project, set up to boost the local economy, promotes cooperation and social cohesion, as well as local production and outlets for regional products.

Guttland - a great place for an afternoon out

Guttland is also easily accessible for travellers coming to Luxembourg City for a business trip. A stone's throw from the capital, the Bambësch and Gréngewald together make up the country's largest area of woodland and are the perfect place for sport and relaxation. An afternoon stroll in the Bambësch is a great way for professionals to recharge their batteries and make sure they are on top form for the next day's work.
  • Updated 14-05-2019

Guttland - prenez le temps de ralentir

© SIP
Au centre et à l’ouest du pays s’étend la région touristique du Guttland. Des villages de charme, d’imposants châteaux et forteresses, de nombreuses fermes et domaines ruraux restaurés se déploient dans un décor enchanteur aux portes de la capitale.

Le Guttland est une invitation au slow tourism, le tourisme lent. Des centaines de kilomètres de sentiers pédestres et de voies cyclables serpentent à travers les paysages intacts et promeuvent la mobilité douce. Le patrimoine historique est omniprésent, que ce soit dans la Vallée des sept châteaux, sur les nombreux sites gallo-romains ou dans les musées ruraux.

Facilement accessible depuis la Ville de Luxembourg grâce au réseau de transports publics, l’offre diversifiée de cette région ravira randonneurs, jeunes publics, cyclistes et familles.

Un voyage dans le temps

© Office régional du tourisme (ORT) Guttland (ORTCO), tous droits réservés
Une escapade au Guttland est un voyage dans le temps. Les passionnés d’histoire peuvent apprécier divers sites préhistoriques et antiques qui ont été aménagés pour les visiteurs. La villa romaine Miecher, située à Goeblange, permet un parcours depuis le début de sa construction, au 1er siècle ap. J.-C., en passant par sa transformation en fortification civile à la fin du 3e siècle, jusqu’à l’abandon vers la fin du 4e siècle, dans les turbulences des invasions barbares. Aux portes de la capitale, près de Walferdange, se trouve le qanat des Raschpëtzer, un impressionnant aqueduc souterrain de la période romaine, captant encore de l’eau aujourd’hui.

La vallée de l’Eisch, aussi appelée la Vallée des sept châteaux, est l’une des principales attractions touristiques du pays. Elle tire son nom des sept châteaux qui la parcourent: Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels, l’ancien et le nouveau château d’Ansembourg, Septfontaines et Koerich. Aujourd’hui encore, les châteaux de la région du Guttland s’animent régulièrement lors des nombreux marchés et festivités qui y sont organisés tout au long de l’année. Un bel exemple est le festival médiéval à proximité du château d’Useldange, qui par ailleurs propose  un itinéraire culturel complété sous les auspices de l’Unesco.

La nature invite au slow tourism et au sport

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
Les amateurs de randonnées peuvent aussi découvrir la Vallée des sept châteaux à travers le sentier pédestre national ; un parcours de 37 kilomètres entre Gaichel et Mersch dans le calme d’un paysage paisible. La région propose aussi de nombreux sentiers thématiques qui permettent des découvertes surprenantes: l’art dans la forêt à Stafelter (Walferdange) ou les étapes luxembourgeoises du Chemin de Saint-Jacques.

Les enthousiastes du cyclisme peuvent également trouver leur bonheur au Guttland. Plusieurs pistes traversent la région et les fans de Charly Gaul, cycliste luxembourgeois qui a remporté le Tour de France en 1958, peuvent même parcourir celle qui porte son nom.

Villages, traditions et innovation

© SIP / Marc Schoentgen
Le Guttland présente une symbiose parfaite entre l’ancien et le moderne, qui se reflètent dans le vaste éventail de projets régionaux innovants et durables.

Le musée rural de Thillenvogtei emmène ses visiteurs à la découverte de la vie et du travail à la campagne aux siècles passés. Le jeune public peut apprendre à battre le grain, à récolter des pommes de terre et à cuire du pain ou peut s'asseoir sur les bancs d'une école ancienne. Le Vitarium est une nouvelle expérience à vivre en famille: les visiteurs peuvent partir à la découverte du lait et observer la production des différents produits laitiers dans l’usine de Luxlait. Le moulin de Beckerich propose des visites guidées sur les énergies renouvelables et le développement durable. Lors de la traditionnelle Éimaischen, des centaines de Péckvillercher, les oiseaux siffleurs en argile typiquement luxembourgeois, sont exposés et mis à la vente à Nospelt.

Curiosité: le canton de Redange propose une monnaie régionale complémentaire, le Beki. Le projet, qui a pour vocation de relancer l’économie locale, cherche à promouvoir la coopération et la cohésion social, ainsi que la production et les débouchés pour les produits régionaux.

Le Guttland, aussi pour une après-midi

La découverte du Guttland est aussi à la portée des voyageurs qui arrivent au Luxembourg en déplacement professionnel à la capitale. A seulement deux pas de la Ville de Luxembourg, le Bambësch et le Gréngewald constituent la surface boisée la plus vaste du pays et invitent à la détente et aux activités sportives. Une balade au Bambësch l’après-midi permet aux professionnels en visite de se ressourcer pour continuer le lendemain en pleine forme et sérénité.
  • Mis à jour le 14-05-2019