Parks and gardens

The capital

In Luxembourg City, not less than a quarter of the city's territory is taken up by green areas.

Edouard André Municipal Park

The Municipal Park, an English park laid out by landscape engineer Edouard André on the old fortified grounds at the so-called 'Plains Front' is a real island of green in the heart of the city. Green spaces such as the Kinnékswiss in the city centre are the ideal place to recharge your batteries. For more information: www.vdl.lu.

Parks in the Petrusse valley

Created in the spirit of Romanticism, the parks of the Petrusse valley unite a topography marked by ravines, bizarre rock formations, ruins of fortresses and bastions, all set together in perfect harmony.

Arboretum at Luxembourg-Kirchberg

A green belt of tree-lined boulevards, parks and semi-public gardens was created on the Kirchberg Plateau, when the urbanbist concept of the borough was reorganised by the landscape architect Peter Latz. An arboretum reunites tree and rock specimen from the various member states of the European Union; it contributes towards the creation of a variety of public spaces waiting to be discovered.

Merl-Belair Park

Merl-Belair Park, just a stone’s throw from the city centre, is without any doubt a favourite meeting place for families with children. The little ones are drawn to a fascinating play area while adults can recharge their batteries in the meadows on the edges of small lakes or ponds.

Walkway of the Roses

In Limpertsberg, which used to be a garden district famed for its rose fields, a thematical walkway, called the 'Walkway of the Roses' has been created. It leads visitors through the landscape and architectural heritage of this district. The Tony Neuman Park, also located in Limpertsberg, boasts a collection of sculptures some of which were created by renowned Luxembourgish sculptors. For more informations, get in touch with the Luxembourg City Tourist Office.

In the East of the country

The gardens of Echternach Abbey

The municipal park, with the gardens of the Echternach Abbey, which were laid out in the 18th century, lies on the bank of the Sûre river and invites to leisurly walks and sports.

Thermal Park of Mondorf-les-Bains

Conceived by the landscaping engineer Edouard André in the 19th century and located next to the Thermal Domain of Mondorf-les-Bains, this park is also an open-air gallery for sculptures.

Butterfly Garden

In Grevenmacher, children can visit the Butterfly Garden. Floating through air between exotic plants, inside a vast greenhouse, butterflies of splendid colours are a magnet for many visitors who wish to combine nature and discovery.

In the West of the country

French Gardens of the Ansembourg Castle

In the country's west, the French terraced gardens of the New Ansembourg Castle, located in the Valley of the Seven Castles, are definitely worth a detour. Originally made up of botanical collections, exotic plants and many kinds of fruit-bearing trees, these gardens were known far beyond the borders of the country.

Colpach Park

Colpach Park, laid out in 1916 around Colpach castle, is home to sculptures from many different 19th century artists, like Maillol, Despiau, Bourdelle and Kolbe. Originally, the park was conceived as the private park of Luxembourg steel baron Emile Mayrisch.

In the North of the country

Stone Sculpture Itinerary

The stone sculptures itineraries in the Upper Sûre Nature Park in the Ardennes are the result of two international symposia on sculpture and stone, organised in 1995-1996 and 1999.

Herb garden in Winseler

The herb garden in Winseler exhibits about 300 different varieties of plants.

Gardens of Wiltz

The fields of stone in the gardens of Wiltz are a living work of contemporary art on a little over 6 acres (2.5 hectares), established together by people with disabilities, jobless people, craftsmen and artists.

In the South of the country.

The 'Parc Merveilleux' in Bettembourg

For the children, the Parc Merveilleux Bettembourg is not only a giant playground but also a zoo with exotic animals and a theme park, where the young and the not so young can enter the world of fairies and tales.

Galgenberg Park at Esch-sur-Alzette

The Galgenberg park is an English garden with an artifical waterfall, a wildlife enclosure, rosaries, contemporary sculptures and a corniche with a view over Esch-sur-Alzette.

  • Updated 14-09-2017

Parcs et jardins

La capitale

A Luxembourg-Ville, pas moins d'un quart du territoire de la capitale est occupé par des espaces verts.

Parc municipal d'Edouard André

Le parc municipal, parc anglais aménagé par l’ingénieur paysagiste Edouard André sur les anciens terrains fortifiés du front de la plaine constitue un véritable écrin de verdure en plein centre-ville. Des espaces verts comme la Kinnékswiss en plein centre-ville incitent à se ressourcer. Pour en savoir plus: www.vdl.lu.

Parcs de la Pétrusse

Aménagés dans un esprit plus romantique, les parcs de la Pétrusse unissent topographie encaissée, formations rocheuses bizarres, ruines de fortifications et bastions dans un ensemble harmonieux.

Arboretum à Luxembourg-Kirchberg

Un ruban vert de boulevards plantés d’allées et de contre-allées, de parcs et de jardins semi-publics a été créé au plateau de Kirchberg suite à la réorganisation de l’urbanisme du quartier par l’architecte-paysagiste Peter Latz. Un arboretum rassemblant des essences arboricoles et des échantillons rocheux en provenance des Etats membres de l’Union européenne contribue à créer une multitude d’espaces de vie et de découverte.

Parc de Merl-Belair

Le parc de Merl-Belair, à deux pas seulement du centre-ville, est certainement un des lieux de rencontre préférés des familles avec enfants. Une aire de jeux fascinante attire les petits tandis que les grands sauront se ressourcer sur les prés au bord de l’étang ou des bassins d’eau.

Sentier des roses

Au Limpertsberg, qui dans le temps fut un quartier jardin couvert de champs de roses, un circuit pédestre appelé le "Sentier des roses" mène aujourd’hui à travers le patrimoine paysager et architectural de ce quartier. Le parc Tony Neuman, aussi aménagé au Limpertsberg, présente une collection de sculptures dont certaines ont été créées par des sculpteurs luxembourgeois de renom. Plus d'infos auprès du Luxembourg City Tourist Office.

A l'est du pays

Jardins de l'abbaye d'Echternach

Le parc municipal avec les jardins de l’abbaye d’Echternach, créés au XVIIIe siècle, situé près de la Sûre invite à la promenade et aux loisirs.

Parc thermal de Mondorf-les-Bains

Conçu par l’ingénieur paysagiste Edouard André au XIXe siècle et situé près du domaine thermal de Mondorf-les-Bains, le parc thermal de Mondorf-les-Bains sert également de galerie d'art pour des sculptures.

Jardin des papillons

A Grevenmacher, les enfants peuvent visiter le jardin des papillons. Flottant entre les plantes exotiques qui poussent sous le toit d’une grande serre, les papillons aux couleurs splendides attirent chaque année de nombreux visiteurs désireux de combiner nature et découvertes.

A l'ouest du pays

Jardins français du château d'Ansembourg

A l’ouest du pays, les jardins français en terrasses du nouveau château d’Ansembourg, situé dans la Vallée des sept châteaux valent également un détour. Jadis constitués de collections botaniques, de plantes exotiques et de nombreuses variétés d'arbres fruitiers, ces jardins étaient réputés au-delà des frontières luxembourgeoises.

Parc de Colpach

Le parc de Colpach, installé vers 1916 près du château de Colpach abrite des sculptures de différents artistes du XIXe siècle comme Maillol, Despiau, Bourdelle et Kolbe. Le parc était à l'origine le parc privé du sidérurgiste luxembourgeois Emile Mayrisch.

Au nord du pays

Itinéraire de sculptures de pierre

Dans les Ardennes, les itinéraires de sculptures de pierre dans le parc naturel de la Haute-Sûre sont les fruits de deux symposiums internationaux de la sculpture en pierre organisés en 1995-1996 et en 1999.

Jardin aux herbes de Winseler

Le jardin aux herbes de Winseler héberge quelque 300 variétés différentes de plantes.

Jardins de Wiltz

Les champs de pierre des jardins de Wiltz forment une œuvre d'art vivante et contemporaine de 2.5 ha, aménagée conjointement par des personnes handicapées, des chômeurs, des artisans et des artistes.

Au sud du pays

Parc merveilleux de Bettembourg

Pour les enfants, le parc merveilleux de Bettembourg offre non seulement une aire de jeux inégalée, mais également un zoo aux animaux exotiques et un parc thématique où petits et grands peuvent s’immerger dans le monde des contes de fées.

Parc du Galgenberg à Esch-sur-Alzette

Le parc du Galgenberg est un jardin anglais avec cascade artificielle, enclos à gibier, roseraies, sculptures contemporaines et promenade de corniche avec vue sur la ville d'Esch-sur-Alzette.

  • Mis à jour le 26-06-2018