Government

The work of the government

The Constitution confers executive power on the Grand Duke. He is responsible for the implementation of laws by adopting regulations as required. But in practice, this task is performed by the government.

The Constitution also gives the Head of State total freedom in choosing the members of his government. But the principle of democracy implies that ministers should enjoy not only the trust of the Grand Duke but also that of the parliamentary majority. The Grand Duke therefore respects the results of parliamentary elections by appointing a formateur to form a government that is supported by the parliamentary majority.

As a body of the executive power, the government has overall power to manage public affairs. Each member of the government heads one or more ministerial departments to which he/she was appointed by the Grand Duke.

The government enjoys the right to propose legislation, known as governmental initiative, which allows it to table bills (projets de loi).

The members of the government meet on a weekly basis in the Government Council to discuss all the items on the agenda. Any matters submitted to the Grand Duke must be discussed beforehand by the Government Council. The Government Council also discusses bills that are tabled in the Chamber of Deputies. Decisions are taken by a majority of votes.

The government manages the state's income and expenditure budget, which is adopted each year.

Each year, the government makes a number of statements:

The Bettel-Schneider-Braz Government

The government resulting from the general election held on 14 October 2018 is a coalition government involving the Democratic Party (DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (LSAP) and the Greens (déi gréng), under the leadership of Xavier Bettel (DP).

The Bettel-Schneider-Braz Government was sworn in on 5 December 2018. It comprises:

  • One Prime Minister;
  • Two Deputy Prime Ministers;
  • 14 members bearing the title of Minister.

The programme of the Bettel-Schneider-Braz government was presented at the Chamber of Deputies on 11 December 2018. This programme sets the broad political lines that the government will follow in the current legislative period.

The next legislative elections are going to take place in 2023.

  • Updated 04-02-2019

Gouvernement

Les travaux du gouvernement 

Selon la Constitution, le pouvoir exécutif est attribué au Grand-Duc. A ce titre, il assure l'exécution des lois en prenant les règlements nécessaires. Dans la pratique toutefois, cette tâche est exercée par le gouvernement.

Le texte de la Constitution accorde en outre au chef d'Etat une liberté absolue dans le choix des membres de son gouvernement. Cependant, le principe démocratique exige que les ministres aient non seulement sa confiance, mais aussi celle de la majorité parlementaire. Par conséquence, le Grand-Duc respecte les résultats des élections législatives en désignant un formateur qui prend alors soin de composer un gouvernement qui rencontre l'adhésion de la majorité parlementaire.

En tant qu’organe du pouvoir exécutif, le gouvernement dispose d’un pouvoir de gestion général des affaires publiques. Chaque membre du gouvernement se trouve à la tête d'un ou de plusieurs départements ministériels auquel il a été nommé par le Grand-Duc.

Le gouvernement a en outre un droit d’initiative en matière législative, appelé initiative gouvernementale, qui lui permet de présenter des projets de loi.

Les membres du gouvernement se réunissent hebdomadairement en Conseil de gouvernement afin de délibérer de toutes les affaires inscrites à l’ordre du jour. Toutes les affaires qui sont soumises au Grand-Duc doivent être délibérées au préalable au Conseil de gouvernement. De même, le Conseil de gouvernement délibère sur les projets de loi qui seront déposés à la Chambre des députés. Les décisions sont prises à la majorité des voix.

Le gouvernement gère le budget des recettes et dépenses de l'Etat, qui est voté annuellement.

Chaque année, le gouvernement fait plusieurs déclarations:

Le gouvernement Bettel-Schneider-Braz

Le gouvernement issu des élections législatives du 14 octobre 2018 est un gouvernement de coalition entre le Parti démocratique (DP), le Parti ouvrier socialiste luxembourgeois (LSAP) et Les Verts ("déi gréng"), sous la présidence de Xavier Bettel (DP).

Le gouvernement Bettel-Schneider-Braz a été assermenté le 5 décembre 2018. Il est composé:

  • d'un Premier ministre;
  • de deux Vice-Premier ministres;
  • de 14 membres portant le titre de ministre.

Le programme du gouvernement Bettel-Schneider-Braz a été présenté à la Chambre des députés le 11 décembre 2018. Ce programme définit les grandes lignes politiques que le gouvernement suivra dans la période législative en cours.

Les prochaines élections législatives ont lieu en 2023.

  • Mis à jour le 04-02-2019