Emergency.lu

In 2011, the Luxembourg government launched emergency.lu in collaboration with businesses of Luxembourg's aerospace industry. With its project emergency.lu, Luxembourg offers a global satellite communications system allowing a rapid response to natural disasters and humanitarian missions. Emergency.lu has been operational since 1 January 2012.

The Luxembourg government decided to make emergency.lu globally available to the international humanitarian community as a public good, with the aim of helping to save lives in the early hours after a humanitarian catastrophe.

Emergency.lu is a global integrated communications platform, designed to help the humanitarian community and civil protection teams in the field (re-)establish telecommunication services, in order to ensure effective communication and coordination with the rescue teams.

The platform provides infrastructure and satellite capacity, communication terminals and logistics for rapid deployment in response to natural disasters or manmade crises.

Emergency.lu was initiated as a public-private partnership by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg, in collaboration with HITEC Luxembourg, SES TechCom and Luxembourg Air Ambulance.

The system was developed in close collaboration with the World Food Programme, in support of its mission as leader in telecommunications during humanitarian emergencies.

It has been coordinated with the major international organisations such as the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs of the United Nations (UNOCHA) and the European Union, as well as agents of civil society and the private sector, such as Ericsson Response and Skype.

In the presence of representatives of the United Nations and member states, the Minister for Cooperation and Humanitarian Action, Marie-Josée Jacobs, officially launched emergency.lu on on 7 December 2011 in New York.

Its first deployment took place in the Republic of South Sudan in the early months of 2012. Emergency.lu was then deployed in November 2013 on the Philippines in order to reestablish connectivity after the passage of typhoon Haiyan.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Emergency.lu

En 2011, le gouvernement luxembourgeois a lancé emergency.lu, en collaboration avec des entreprises de l’industrie aérospatiale luxembourgeoise. Le projet luxembourgeois emergency.lu constitue la fourniture au niveau mondial d'un système de communication satellitaire à réaction rapide en cas de catastrophes naturelles et de missions humanitaires. Emergency.lu est opérationnel depuis le 1er janvier 2012.

Le gouvernement luxembourgeois a décidé de mettre emergency.lu comme bien public global à disposition de la communauté humanitaire internationale, avec le but d'aider à sauver des vies humaines dans les premières heures après une catastrophe humanitaire.

emergency.lu est une plateforme de télécommunications globale intégrée, conçue pour aider la communauté humanitaire et les équipes de protection civile sur le terrain à (r)établir les services de télécommunications pour assurer une communication et une coordination efficaces aux équipes de secours.

La plateforme fournit l’infrastructure et la capacité satellitaires, des terminaux de communication et la logistique nécessaire à un déploiement rapide en réponse à des catastrophes naturelles ou des crises provoquées par l’homme.

emergency.lu a été initié en tant que partenariat public-privé par le ministère des Affaires étrangères du Luxembourg en collaboration avec HITEC Luxembourg, SES TechCom et Luxembourg Air Ambulance.

Le système a été développé en étroite collaboration avec le Programme alimentaire mondial en appui à sa mission de chef de file dans le domaine des télécommunications en cas d’urgence humanitaire.

Il a fait l’objet d’une coordination avec les principales organisations internationales concernées, telles que l’Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires des Nations unies (Unocha) et l’Union européenne, ainsi qu’avec des acteurs de la société civile et du secteur privé, dont Ericsson Response et Skype.

En présence de représentants des Nations unies et d’Etats-membres, l'ancienne ministre de la Coopération et de l’Action humanitaire, Marie-Josée Jacobs, a procédé, le 7 décembre 2011 à New York, au lancement officiel d'emergency.lu.

Son premier déploiement a eu lieu en République du Sud-Soudan dans les premiers mois de l’année 2012. emergency.lu a par la suite été déployé en novembre 2013 aux Philippines pour offrir de la connectivité après le typhon Haiyan.

  • Mis à jour le 16-04-2015