Political crisis and 1919 referendum

The crisis was triggered immediately following the departure of the Germans. In Parliament, the representatives of the Left demanded the removal of the dynasty. They reproached the sovereign her relations with the occupier during the war and her for having intervened in political life in favour of the political Right. The motion was only just rejected.

On an international level, the Luxembourg government also had to face criticism with regard to Grand Duchess Marie-Adélaïde. France and Belgium were carrying out secret negotiations, which risked having repercussions on the independence of Luxembourg. On 9 January 1919, the volunteer corps (Luxembourg army) revolted and a committee of public safety declared Luxembourg a republic. These movements did not garner public support and were swiftly stifled by the intervention of French troops. But the position of Grand Duchess Marie-Adélaïde was definitely compromised. The sovereign decided to abdicate in favour of her younger sister Charlotte, who succeeded her without delay (15 January 1919).

To defuse the crisis, the Luxembourg government decided to organise a double referendum. The public was to be consulted on the form of the state (monarchy or republic) and the economic orientation of the country following the unraveling of the Zollverein. On the one hand, the voice of the population was intended to make an impression at the very moment the victors were gathered in Versailles to redraw the European map according to the Wilson principle of the right of nations to self-determination. On the other hand, the referendum was supposed to reinforce the legitimacy of the new grand duchess. Voting for the first time under universal suffrage, on September 28 1919 a large majority pronounced itself in favour of keeping the monarchy (80%) and for an economic union with France (73%). France, however, withdrew and advised the Luxembourg government to turn towards Belgium. Following harsh negotiations, the agreement establishing the Belgo-Luxembourg Economic Union (UEBL) was signed in 1921.

(Source: About... History of Luxembourg)

  • Updated 30-07-2018

La crise politique et le référendum de 1919

La crise éclate dès le départ des Allemands. A la Chambre des députés, les représentants de la gauche demandent la déchéance de la dynastie. Ils reprochent à la souveraine d’avoir entretenu des relations avec l’occupant pendant la guerre et d’avoir favorisé la droite par ses interventions dans la vie politique. La motion est rejetée de justesse.

Sur le plan international, le gouvernement luxembourgeois doit aussi affronter l’hostilité à l’égard de la Grande-Duchesse Marie-Adélaïde. La France et la Belgique mènent des négociations secrètes risquant d’avoir des répercussions sur l’indépendance du Luxembourg. Le 9 janvier 1919, la compagnie des volontaires (armée luxembourgeoise) se révolte et un comité de salut public proclame la république. Ces mouvements ne rencontrent pas l’adhésion populaire et sont vite étouffés par l’intervention des troupes françaises. Mais la position de la Grande-Duchesse Marie-Adélaïde est définitivement compromise. La souveraine décide d’abdiquer en faveur de sa sœur puînée Charlotte qui lui succède immédiatement (15 janvier 1919).

Pour désamorcer la crise, le gouvernement luxembourgeois décide d’organiser un double référendum. La consultation populaire porte sur la forme de l’Etat (monarchie ou république) et sur l’orientation économique du pays après la dénonciation du Zollverein. D’un côté, la voix de la population est censée faire impression au moment où les vainqueurs réunis à Versailles redessinent la carte européenne selon le principe wilsonien du droit des peuples à disposer d’eux-mêmes. De l’autre, le référendum doit renforcer la légitimité de la nouvelle Grande-Duchesse. Votant pour la première fois au suffrage universel, une large majorité se prononce, le 28 septembre 1919, en faveur du maintien de la monarchie (80 %) et pour une union économique avec la France (73 %). Cependant, la France se désiste et conseille au gouvernement luxembourgeois de se tourner vers la Belgique. Après d’âpres négociations, la convention de l’Union économique belgo-luxembourgeoise est signée en 1921.

(Source: A propos... de l'histoire du Luxembourg)

  • Mis à jour le 25-07-2018