Space Resources

Grand Duchy gets ready to mine asteroids

Thirty years after the foundation in 1985 of the European satellite company (Société Européenne des Satellites - SES) – which has since become the global leader among satellite operators -, the Grand Duchy is again looking to the stars, or rather to the asteroids and the resources they contain. Since the announcement of the creation of a legal framework for the exploitation of resources in space, the number of companies and stakeholders in the sector that have begun activities in the Grand Duchy has been growing constantly, to such an extent that it is possible to refer to a real ecosystem for space technologies in the Grand Duchy.

Why space resources?

Recent developments in space technologies point to a substantial reduction in the cost of space missions, and hence to an increase in the number of those missions. Yet each launch takes up precious planetary resources to launch a limited of cargo - an enormous waste.

So imagine that future missions could stock up on the fuel, water, materials and resources they need in space, from resources mined on asteroids. And imagine that other resources which are rare on Earth could be brought back from space.

This is the vision behind the SpaceResources.lu initiative.

A launch pad for exploring asteroids

In 2017, the Grand Duchy adopted a legal framework for exploiting the resources on Near Earth Objects (NEO), mainly asteroids.

The Law on the exploration and use of space resources came into force on 24 July 2017; it is the second legal framework of this kind in the world, and the first in Europe.

Luxembourg's new Space Law ensures legal security for private companies regarding entitlement to mineral resources gathered in space, all in compliance with international law. The Law has been formulated in such a way as to specifically grant companies the right to extract minerals, water and other resources, in particular on asteroids. However, the Law neither establishes nor implies any sovereignty over a territory or over a celestial body. The legal framework only addresses the appropriation of space resources.

Partners in the conquest of space

There is already an ecosystem of stakeholders and networks ready to welcome you and finance your R&D projects involving space technologies:

There are also two sectoral groupings for advising companies, defending their interests, and promoting synergy and cooperation:

  • Updated 23-04-2018

Space Resources

Le Luxembourg s’apprête à miner des astéroïdes

30 ans après la fondation, en 1985, de la Société européenne des satellites (SES) – aujourd’hui le premier opérateur de satellites au monde –, le Luxembourg porte de nouveau son regard vers les étoiles, ou plutôt les astéroïdes et les ressources qu’ils hébergent. Depuis l’annonce de la création d’un cadre légal pour l’exploitation de ressources dans l’espace, le nombre des entreprises et acteurs du secteur ayant commencé leurs activités au Luxembourg ne cesse d’augmenter de façon à ce qu’on puisse parler d’un vrai écosystème luxembourgeois des technologies de l’espace.

Pourquoi des ressources spatiales?

Des développements récents dans les technologies de l’espace présagent une réduction substantielle des coûts pour une mission spatiale et donc une augmentation des missions spatiales. Cependant, chaque lancement a besoin de ressources planétaires précieuses pour lancer un cargo limité – un gaspillage énorme.

Imaginez donc que des missions futures pourraient s’approvisionner en fuel, en eau et en matériaux et ressources nécessaires dans l’espace, depuis des ressources minées sur des astéroïdes. Imaginez encore que d’autres ressources, rares sur Terre, pourraient être rapatriées depuis l’espace.

Voici la vision de l’initiative SpaceResources.lu.

Une aire de lancement pour l'exploration des astéroïdes

En 2017, le Luxembourg s’est doté d’un cadre légal pour l’exploitation de ressources sur des Near Earth Objects (objets géocroiseurs, NEO), principalement des astéroïdes.

Entrée en vigueur le 24 juillet 2017, la Loi sur l’exploration et l’utilisation des ressources de l’espace est le 2e cadre légal de ce type au monde, 1er en Europe.

La nouvelle loi spatiale du Luxembourg garantit aux entreprises privées une sécurité juridique quant au droit aux ressources minérales récoltées dans l’espace, ceci conformément au droit international. Elle a été élaborée de façon à accorder spécifiquement le droit aux entreprises d’extraire des minéraux, de l’eau et d’autres ressources, en particulier sur des astéroïdes. Toutefois, la loi ne crée ni n'implique aucune souveraineté sur un territoire ou un corps céleste. Seule la question de l'appropriation des ressources spatiales est traitée dans ce cadre juridique.

Partenaires dans la conquête de l’espace

Déjà maintenant, un écosystème d’acteurs et de réseaux se tient prêt pour vous accueillir et financer vos projets R&D dans le domaine des technologies de l’espace:

En outre, deux groupements sectoriels existent pour conseiller les entreprises, défendre leurs intérêts et favoriser la synergie et la coopération:

  • Mis à jour le 23-11-2018