Student life

What to expect when studying in Luxembourg
Vie estudiantine

Situated in the heart of Europe and the Greater Region, in between the pleasures of life, the culture and the high-end infrastructures, your student life in Luxembourg will be a unique and memorable experience!

Transportation and connectivity

When it comes to mobility for students, you could hardly find better: All public transports in Luxembourg are free for all students enrolled in the Grand-Duchy, no matter the type of transportation. The bus and train network covers the entirety of the country and special services are provided at night or for big events. Furthermore, the new tram line facilitates mobility between the city and Kirchberg.

Beyond the borders, international connexions are also well developed. As Luxembourg is situated at the center of Europe and the Greater Region, the neighbour countries are easily and rapidly reachable by train, bus or car, often under half an hour. For destinations that are further away, strategic airports like Luxembourg airport, Frankfurt, Frankfurt-Hahn, Charleroi, Lorraine airport or Saarbrucken airport are only a stone's throw away.

Culture and nightlife

The nightlife and weekend activities are of course an important part of student life. And in Luxembourg, there is a offer for every taste!

  • Our theatres, concert halls and cultural centers feature richly packed programs that are affordable for every culture enthusiast. Boredom is an unknown word during summer holidays, as there is an abundance of festivals and open air concerts all throughout the country.
  • For party weekends or after-uni evenings, a range of cafes, bars, terraces and clubs are spread across Luxembourg-city's main nightlife areas, being the Alstad(old town), the Grund, Clausen and Hollerich.
  • Esch-sur-Alzette, the city where the Belval campus is situated, is also becoming a very popular and cosmopolite area. In the center, a variety of bars can be found, the 'Kulturfabrik' is hosting concerts and plays of all kinds and the 'Rockhal', the biggest concert venue in the country, regularly welcomes international superstars.

Living costs

All these aspects seem amazing, but what are the costs of studying in Luxembourg you ask? It is difficult to give a precise estimation of the average living costs as a student, as they can vary drastically according to personal needs, taste and situations. However, you can find an approximate estimation of average costs per person per month below, gathered from information available on the sitesExpatistananduni.lu:

Enrolment at the University of Luxembourg

70 € / month for semesters 1 and 2

35 € / month for semesters 3 to 6

Housing in university accommodation

380 € / month (600 € for private accommodation)

Meal in university refectory

150 - 200€

Phone bill

20 - 30 €

Internet (private housing)

60 €

Supermarket

130 - 200 €

Nightlife, restaurants, culture

200 - 250€

Fitness

40 - 60 €

Hygiene and health

20 - 30 €

School supplies (books, copies...)

20 €

Hobbies, miscellaneous, shopping...

100 - 150 €


 

Depending on your lifestyle and additional consumption needs, you should plan a budget of 800 – 1.500 euros per month. You can find information on financial help and other financing possibilities here.

  • Updated 09-11-2018

La vie estudiantine

Ce qui vous attend au quotidien en tant qu’étudiant au Luxembourg
Vie estudiantine

Au cœur de l’Europe et de la Grand-Région, entre le savoir-vivre, la culture et les bonnes infrastructures, de la vie d’étudiant au Luxembourg on en profite pleinement!

 

Transports et connectivité

En terme de mobilité pour étudiants, on ne pourrait trouver mieux : tous les transports publics au Luxembourg sont gratuits pour les étudiants inscrits au Grand-Duché, tous types confondus et sans limites. Les réseaux de bus, et de train couvrent l’entièreté du pays et sont complétés par des courses spéciales pendant la nuit ou à l'occasion de certains événements. De plus, le nouveau tram facilite la mobilité entre la ville et le Kirchberg.

Au-delà des frontières, la mobilité internationale est également très développée. Le Luxembourg étant situé au coeur de l’UE et de la Grande Région, les pays voisins sont facilement et rapidement joignables par train et bus ou en voiture, bien souvent en-dessous d’une demi-heure de trajet. Pour les connexions aux destinations plus lointaines, d’importants aéroports comme notamment l’aéroport de Luxembourgde Francfort, de Francfort-Hahn, de Charleroi, de Lorraine et de Sarrebruck, sont tous à un jet de pierre.

 

Culture et sorties

Partie importante de la vie d’étudiant sont bien sûr les soirées et weekends. Et il ne manque pas d’options pour tous les goûts au Grand-Duché !

  • Les théâtres, salles de concert et centres culturels proposent des programmes variés et abordables pour les amateurs de culture. Lors des vacances d’été, l’ennui n’est pas de mise grâce à un programme chargé de festivals et concerts de plein air à travers le pays.
  •  Pour les weekends de fête ou les soirées "after-uni", des cafés, bars, terrasses et clubs vous attendent dans les principaux quartiers de la vie nocturne  à Luxembourg-Ville, notamment l’Alstad (vieille ville), le Grund, Clausen et Hollerich.
  • Aussi Esch-sur-Alzette, ville du campus Belval, est de plus en plus populaire et cosmopolite. Une panoplie de bars peuplent son centre, la "Kulturfabrik" propose entre autres des concerts et représentations théâtrales et la "Rockhal", plus vaste salle de concerts du Luxembourg, accueille régulièrement des stars mondiales de la musique.

Coûts de vie

Tout cela semble bien, mais quels sont les coûts pour étudier au Luxembourg ? Il est difficile de donner une estimation exacte des coûts de vie moyens en tant qu’étudiant, comme cela dépend fortement des goûts, des besoins et des situations personnelles. Voici néanmoins quelques estimations moyennes, relevées entre-autre sur Expatistan et uni.lu, des coûts par mois par personne :

Inscription à l'Université du Luxembourg

70 € / mois pour semestre 1 et 2

35 € / mois pour semestre 3 à 6

Logement en résidence universitaire

380 € / mois (600 € pour logement privé)

Repas cantine universitaire

150 - 200€

Téléphone

20 - 30 €

Internet (logement privé)

60 €

Supermarché

130 - 200 €

Sorties, gastronomie, culture

200 - 250€

Fitness

40 - 60 €

Hygiène et santé

20 - 30 €

Matériel didactique (livres, photocopies...)

20 €

Loisirs, divers achats...

100 - 150 €


 

Selon votre style de vie et vos autres dépenses, comptez donc avec 800 – 1.500 euros par mois. Renseignez-vous sur les aides financières et autres possibilités de financement. 

  • Mis à jour le 09-11-2018