Universities

Internationality, excellence and diversity: University education in Luxembourg is internationally acclaimed.
Université

Do you consider studying in Luxembourg? Not only is there a diverse selection of higher education institutions in the country, but the cultural and social environment will make you enjoy your student life to the fullest. The University of Luxembourg, globally renowned for being multilingual, international and research driven, welcomes many national and international students. Furthermore, a range of private and international universities offer a wide choice of diplomas and programs for every need.

The University of Luxembourg

The university stands out because of the amount and quality of the different available programmes. Founded only 15 years ago, it is the only public university in Luxembourg. It has three faculties across the country:

  • The Faculty of Science, Technology and Communication in Luxembourg-Kirchberg;
  • the Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education in Esch-Belval;
  • the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance, including the Luxembourg School of Finance, situated in Luxembourg-Limpertsberg.

Leading the Times Higher Education(THE) and U-Multirank rankings in terms of internationality, the university of Luxembourg is acquiring a worldwide reputation.

An European university


The University of Luxembourg embodies the European idea: Situated in the heart of the European Union, it is a multilingual and international institution(53% of international students). The programmes are either bilingual or trilingual (French, German, English) or entirely held in English. Moreover, some bachelor and master programs are of bi- or even tri-national disposition.

Research, especially in IT, biomedicine, European law and science of education, is approached in a very interdisciplinary manner and is a main focus of the young university, contributing to its popularity. Adding to it, the collaboration with a variety of financial institutions and businesses facilitates the students' transition into the professional world.

Private and international universities

Apart from the University of Luxembourg there are also a wide range of private and international universities in the country:

  • The Sacred Heart University Luxembourg, also accredited AACSB, is an US American university specialised in business and management. It tightly collaborates with a range of Luxembourgish businesses.
  • The Lunex University is specialised in sport, motricity, therapy and preventive medicine.  Located in Differdange, it offers bachelor and master courses in physical therapy and sport management which are recognised on an European scale.

Long distance studying

For those wishing to study long distance, there are a variety of institutions offering correspondence courses. Amongst others:

  • The Open University Luxembourg, established through a cooperation between the Chamber of Employees and the British Open University, has bachelor and master programmes in English. Most popular are the administration and IT management programmes.
  • The'École Supérieure Ouverte à Distance', accreditedIACBE, has human resource, communication, marketing, business strategy, finance, tourism, hospitality and environmental security programmes at bachelor and master level. It is a member of the European Federation of Schools(FEDE).
  • Updated 09-11-2018

Les universités

Internationalité, excellence et diversité : L’enseignement universitaire au Luxembourg sait se profiler sur un plan mondial.

Université

Vous envisagez d'étudier au Luxembourg? Le pays ne vous offre pas seulement une diversité d’institutions d’enseignement supérieur, mais aussi un environnement culturel et social qui vous fera vivre de beaux moments dans votre vie estudiantine. L’Université du Luxembourg, renommée mondialement pour son multilinguisme, son internationalité et ses programmes de recherche, accueille bon nombre d’étudiants nationaux et internationaux. De plus, une panoplie d’universités privées et internationales offre un large choix de formations et diplômes pour tous les besoins.

L'Université du Luxembourg

L’enseignement universitaire se caractérise par l’abondance et la haute qualité des programmes disponibles. Créée il y a 15 ans, elle est la seule université publique au Luxembourg. Elle se compose de trois facultés, situées à travers le pays:

  • La Faculté des Sciences, de la Technologie et de la Communication (FSTC) à Luxembourg-Kirchberg;
  • La Faculté des Lettres, des Sciences humaines, des Arts et des Sciences de l'Education à Esch-Belval;
  • La Faculté de Droit, d'Économie et de Finance (FDEF), comprenant la Luxembourg School of Finance, située à Luxembourg-Limpertsberg

Présent dans la tête des classements Times Higher Education (THE) et U-Multirank, et menant le THE en termes de perspectives internationales, l’Université du Luxembourg fait sa réputation.

Une université européenne


L’Université du Luxembourg vit l’idée européenne: se situant au coeur de l’Union européenne, elle est de caractère multilingue et international (53% d’étudiants internationaux). Les formations sont généralement bilingues ou trilingues (français, allemand, anglais) ou alors entièrement en anglais. Par ailleurs, plusieurs programmes de bachelier et master sont transfrontaliers au plan bi- ou tri-national.

La popularité de la toute jeune université se fonde sur la recherche - spécialement dans les domaines de la science informatique, de la biomédecine, du droit européen et des sciences de l’éducation - et sur son approche interdisciplinaire expliquent la popularité de la toute jeune université. En outre, la collaboration étroite avec les institutions et entreprises financières du pays, permet aux étudiants de s’immerger dans le secteur professionnel dès le début de leurs études.

Universités privées et internationales

En dehors de l’Université du Luxembourg, on retrouve aussi des universités étrangères et privées dans le pays, accréditées par le ministère:

  • La Sacred Heart University Luxembourg, également accréditée AACSB, est une université américaine principalement axée sur le commerce et le management. Elle travaille étroitement avec diverses entreprises luxembourgeoises.
  • La Lunex University est spécialisée dans le sport, la motricité, la thérapie et la médecine préventive. Située à Differdange, elle offre différents cours universitaires à reconnaissance européenne de niveau bachelor et master en physiothérapie et en management du sport à reconnaissance européenne.

En outre, la Open University Luxembourg offre des formations de bachelier et de master en anglais à distance. Les programmes de gestion, du management et de l’informatique sont les plus fréquentés.
  • Mis à jour le 26-06-2019