Luxembourg, a European Capital

The capital of Luxembourg, a founding member of the European Union, became the temporary headquarters of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) in 1952, and at the same time the first European capital.

Birthplace of Robert Schuman, Luxembourg City is now, together with Brussels and Strasbourg, the third European capital and hosts most of the European institutions on its territory.

Thus, the General Secretariat of the European Parliament, various services of the European Commission, the Court of Justice of the European Communities and the Court of First Instance, the European Court of Auditors, the European Investment Bank and the Publications Office of the European Communities have their headquarters in Luxembourg.

Everyday life is also European through and through. Whether in shops, restaurants or bars, many languages spoken in the European Union make themselves heard in Luxembourg City. With 90%, nationals from the European Union member states are the largest group of foreigners who live and work in Luxembourg City. In fact, foreign nationals represent more than 60% of the population of the city.

  • Updated 28-04-2015