Political parties


From the start of the 20th century, political interest groups constitute themselves: the Social Democratic Party (Sozialdemokratesch Partei, 1902) and the Liberal League (Liberal Liga, 1904), followed by the Party of the Right (Rietspartei, 1914) were the first Luxembourgish political parties.

These parties are the respective predecessors of the currently largest political parties in Luxembourg: the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Aarbechterpartei, LSAP), the Democratic Party (Demokratesch Partei, DP) and the Christian Social People's Party (Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei, CSV). Since the 1950s, the parties making up the respective coalition governments have been hailing from this group of parties, except for the 2013 coalition government, which also includes the Green Party (déi gréng).

Party politics today

The law of 21 December 2007 regulating party financing gives the definition of a political party or group. In the confines of this law, a political party or group is an association of natural persons, with or without a legal personality, which is involved, in accordance with the fundamental principles of democracy, in the expression of universal suffrage and the popular will in the manner set our in its statutes or programme. In order to create a better balance between men and women in decision-making, the law was amended in December 2016 to provide that the amount awarded to a political party may be decreased in increments, if the number of candidates of the under-represented gender on the list remains below certain thresholds.

Today, about a dozen political parties are active in Luxembourg. The current coalition government is made up of three parties. In total, six parties have been represented at the Chamber of Deputies since the parliamentary elections of 2013.

The landscape of political parties is quite stable. However, in the run-up to legislative elections it is not uncommon for political groups with agendas diverging from the established parties to constitute themselves. However, their success has so far remained rather limited.

Here is a list of political parties arranged alphabetically:

Alternativ Demokratesch Reformpartei – ADR

adr.lu (Alternative Democratic Reform Party)

Chrëschtlech-Sozial Vollekspartei – CSV

csv.lu (Christian Social People's Party)

déi gréng

www.greng.lu (The Green Party)

Déi Konservativ

déikonservativ.lu (The Conservatives)

déi Lénk

www.dei-lenk.lu (The Left)

Demokratesch Partei – DP

www.dp.lu (Democratic Party)

Fräi Sozial Partei

fsapartei.com (Free Social Alternative) 


www.biergerlescht.lu (Free Constituents)

Kommunistesch Partei Lëtzebuerg – KPL

www.kp-l.org (Communist Party Luxembourg)

Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Aarbechterpartei – LSAP

www.lsap.lu (Luxembourg Socialist Workers' party)

Partei fir Integral Demokratie – PID

pid4you.lu (Party for Integral Democracy)


www.piraten.lu (Pirate Party)

Sozialliberal Partei Lëtzebuerg

www.sozialliberal.lu (Parti social libéral Luxembourg)

  • Updated 07-09-2018