Political Institutions

The organisation of the Luxembourg State founds on the principle that the functions of the different powers have to be spread between different organs. As in many other parliamentary democracies, the separation of powers is flexible in Luxembourg. Indeed, there are many relationships between the executive and legislative powers but the judiciary remains completely independent.

The legislative power rests on the joint action of Parliament, Government and the Council of State.

Together with the Grand Duke, the government and its responsible members form the decision-making body of the executive power.

Under the Constitution, courts and tribunals are responsible for exercising judicial power. They are independent in the exercise of their functions.

The Court of Auditors and the Ombudsman are organs that should allow the Parliament to exercise control over the management of the state.

  • Updated 28-04-2015