Coat of arms

The coat of arms of Luxembourg, modified many times, was determined in the years between 1235 and 1239 by Henri V, count of Luxembourg.

The official version contains the following essential elements: barruly of argent and azure in ten parts and a lion rampant gules, crowned, armed and langued in gold with a forked tail crossed in saltire

There are three grades of the Grand Duchy's coat of arms: the small coat of arms, the medium coat of arms and the great coat of arms.

The coat of arms have been protected by Law since 1972. A state heraldic commission advises the Prime Minister, Minister of State in all matters relating to the use of the emblems of the state.In the Grand Duchy, every one of the 105 municipalities has its own coat of arms. The armorial of the Luxembourg municipalities gives ample information about the municipal coats of arms.

  • Updated 28-04-2015