Charlemagne Prize Awarded to the People of Luxembourg

The International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen (Internationaler Karlspreis zu Aachen) has been awarded since 1950 by the city of Aachen to outstanding personalities who are committed to the European unification process. In 1986, it was extraordinarily awarded to the people of Luxembourg.

On Ascension Day, on 8 May 1986, during a ceremony in the Hall of Coronations in the town hall of Aachen, once imperial palatinate, the International Charlemagne Prize of the City of Aachen was bestowed upon the people of Luxembourg, and received by the Head of State, His Royal Highness Grand Duke Jean, in grateful tribute to the exemplary and persevering efforts in the interest of the union of the peoples of Europe.

All in all, the Charlemagne Prize has been bestowed upon Luxembourg three times

  • in 1960 to then Prime Minister Joseph Bech;
  • in 1986 to the people of Luxembourg;
  • in 2006 to Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker.
  • Updated 30-07-2018