Luxembourgers in European Institutions

As a founding member of the European Union, Luxembourg has a role to play in Europe and in the world. From the first days of the existence of the European institutions, Luxembourgers have assumed important tasks. You will find details here of Luxembourg's current representatives in the European institutions.

European Parliament

At the European Parliament, Luxembourg is represented by six MEPs.

European Commission

Within the European Commission, Luxembourg is entitled to one Commissioner of Luxembourg nationality.

Jean-Claude Juncker, former Prime Minister of Luxembourg and former leader of the Eurogroup, became president of the European Commission on 1 November 2014. He is the first president of the European Commission to be elected to the post by the European Parliament. Juncker's term of office runs until 2019; he is the third Luxembourger to preside the European Commission, after Gaston Thorn and Jacques Santer.

Earlier, Viviane Reding was a member of the European Commission from 1999 to 2014. In February 2010 she became vice-president of the European Commission, with responsibility for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. She is currently an MEP.

In the past, two Luxembourgers have been presidents of the European Commission: Gaston Thorn and Jacques Santer.

During his term in office as head of the EU executive (6 January 1981 to 5 January 1985), Gaston Thorn was particularly involved in the negotiations on the second enlargement of the Community to include Spain and Portugal.

While Jacques Santer was its president (23 January 1995 to 15 September 1999), the European Commission made progress on a number of European issues, such as the introduction of the euro, the enlargement of the EU to include countries in Central and Eastern Europe, and employment policy.

Council of the European Union

The current president of the European Commission, Luxembourg's former Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker, headed the euro area from 2005 to 2013. Jean-Claude Juncker was the first permanent president of the Eurogroup, a body that brings together the Finance Ministers of the member countries of the euro area. His first term of office ran from 1 January 2005 to 31 December 2006. At the Eurogroup meeting in Helsinki on 8 September 2006, he was reappointed to the presidency for a term of two years, ending on 31 December 2008. In Brussels on 18 January 2010, his term of office was once again renewed for a further two and a half years. Kept in office in July 2012, Jean-Claude Juncker began his fourth term, but ended it on 21 January 2013.

Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU)

Luxembourg's member of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) is François Biltgen; he has been a judge at the Court of Justice since 7 October 2013. The Court of Justice is composed of 27 judges and eight advocates general.

Marc Jaeger has been president of the General Court of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) since 17 September 2007. Before becoming its president, he had been a judge at the General Court since 1996.

Established in 1987, the General Court is one of the three jurisdictions of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU). It handles appeals by the member States against the European Commission and against certain acts of the Council, as well as appeals addressed to it by both natural and legal persons. The General Court is made up of at least one judge per member State.

European Court of Auditors

Henri Grethen has been Luxembourg's member of the European Court of Auditors since 1 January 2008.

European Central Bank

The president of the Luxembourg Central Bank (BCL) is a member of the Council of Governors of the European Central Bank.

Luxembourg's Yves Mersch began his eight-year term of office as a member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank on 15 December 2012.

European Economic and Social Committee

Luxembourg has six representatives at the European Economic and Social Committee.

European Committee of the Regions

Luxembourg has six representatives at the European Committee of the Regions.

  • Updated 30-07-2018