The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is one of the few countries in the world where the population throughout its territory speaks and writes several languages in the various spheres of their lives, whether private, professional, social, cultural or political.

The language situation in the Grand Duchy features the practice and recognition of three languages: Luxembourgish, French and German.

The importance of the coexistence of these languages is an integral part of the national identity.

With Lëtzebuergesch, or Luxembourgish, as the national language, French as the language of legislation, and French, German and Luxembourgish as the languages of the administration and the judiciary, the multilingualism of some 300.000 native Luxembourgers is a feature of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Over recent decades, the country’s outstanding economic growth and a policy of social promotion have contributed to this polyglot nation being enriched by the mother tongues of the approximately 250.000 foreign nationals who currently live in the Grand Duchy.

  • Updated 28-04-2015