Fundamental education

Fundamental education covers the first nine years of schooling; it is divided into four learning cycles. Fundamental schools are for children aged between 3 and 11.


Three laws were voted on 21 January 2009, reorganising the first nine years of schooling in terms of pedagogical approach and organisation.

Early childhood education, pre-school education and primary education henceforth form a coherent and continuous unit, combined under the name of 'fundamental school'.

The reform entered into force at the start of the school year in September 2009.


Cycle 1

The first cycle consists of an optional year of early childhood education and two years of compulsory pre-school education.

Early childhood education is aimed at children aged 3. It is designed to improve children’s social skills and to teach them Luxembourgish as the language of communication for all children, irrespective of their nationality.

Pre-school education is compulsory for children who have reached the age of 4 years by 1 September of the current year.

Cycles 2, 3 and 4

The second, third and fourth cycles each last two years, and together comprise primary education.

Primary education is for all children who have reached the age of 6 years by 1 September of the current year.

Procedures and information on fundamental education can be found on

Schooling for a child between 3 and 11 years old 

  • Updated 26-07-2018