European Union

Ground broken for new Jean Monnet building

On 4 June, Ministers Xavier Bettel and François Bausch were at the ground-breaking for the Jean Monnet II building for the European Commission in Luxembourg.

180328_JMO2_APD_Visualisation2Prime Minister and Minister of State Xavier Bettel and Minister for Sustainable Development and Infrastructure François Bausch were at the ground-breaking for the European Commission's Jean Monnet II building in Luxembourg, in the presence of European Commissioner for the Budget and Human Resources Günther Oettinger and Lydie Polfer, mayor of Luxembourg City.

The new building is located in the European district of the Kirchberg; it will comprise one seven-storey building and one 23-storey tower, to be completed in two phases. 3,600 staff members will work in a single complex of buildings bringing together most of the European Commission's departments in a human environment that meets stringent environmental criteria.

The architectural design of the building was entrusted in 2010 to KSP Jürgen Engel Architekten, and project management is in the hands of the Luxembourgish company Secolux. For François Bausch, this is "a perfect example of what European collaboration is all about".

The budget voted for the project is 526.3 million euros, with delivery of phase 1 (main building) scheduled for late February 2023 and phase 2 (tower) for late February 2024.

180410_KSP_APD_Viualisation Magistrale-min

Luxembourg - seat of the European institutions

Xavier Bettel said: "Implementing the Jean Monnet II building in Kirchberg confirms the significance of the City of Luxembourg as European capital for the European Commission."

The City of Luxembourg already accommodates a whole range of European institutions, agencies and bodies:

In 2017 the European Parliament also gave the green light to the creation of a European Prosecutor to fight fraud, to be located in the Grand Duchy; the body should begin to operate between 2020 and 2021.

(Article written by the editorial team of the portal / Source : Press release of the Ministry of State and the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure)
  • Updated 07-06-2018