The route of the 2017 Tour de France in Luxembourg unveiled

Note down the 3 and 4 July 2017 to support Luxembourg's cyclists in the Tour de France

02-TDFOn 1 February, the Sports Minister, Romain Schneider, the Secretary of State for the Economy, Francine Closener, and the mayor of Mondorf-les-Bains, Lex Delles, presented the route of the 2017 Tour de France through Luxembourg, on 3 and 4 July.

For its 8th passage through Luxembourg since 1947, the Tour de France passes through 18 municipalities of the Grand Duchy for its third stage, on a north-south axis of 115 km, from Wemperhardt to Esch-sur-Alzette. As for the 4th stage, it departs from Mondorf-les-Bains — stronghold of cycling champions Fränk and Andy Schleck — following the Moselle river over 11 km, towards Vittel in France.

Thus, the Tour de France will make a passage through the town of Schengen, a symbolic place of European integration and the free movement within the European Union, which on this occasion will celebrate the 60th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome.

The last Luxembourgish cyclist to have won the race was Andy Schleck 7 years ago. In order to learn more about the history of Luxembourg and the Tour de France, you may see this presentation: the Tour de France and the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

'the passage of the Tour offers tremendous opportunities to promote [...] the country as a tourist destination with its unspoilt and diverse nature and historical heritage and with its many castles,' said Francine Closener at the presentation of the course.

The 2017 Tour de France starts on 1 July in Germany in Düsseldorf and ends on 23 July in Paris, France.


(Source: press release of the Ministry of the Economy and the Ministry of Sport - Article written by the editorial team of the portal

  • Updated 07-02-2017