Belvaux hosts the 2017 UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships

Luxembourg is the venue for the 5th time, on 28 and 29 January 2017.

28-bielesNearly 50 years after which Luxembourg last hosted the world championships, the country once again is home to this event, one of the most important sports events of the last years, comparable to Gilles Müller's recent victory at the ATP World Tour 2017.

Belvaux, the chosen venue

This 68th edition of the world cyclocross championships takes place in Belvaux, a part of the town of Sanem, counting about 5,700 inhabitants and located in the south of the country. It was chosen for various reasons, especially its well-equipped facilities: 3 train stations, the national airport nearby, many hotels to accommodate visitors during the event, etc.  

17 Luxembourgers in the starting blocks

The Championships are organised by the UCI (International Cycling Union) and take place every year in January. Since that competition exists, one Luxembourgish cyclist has managed to climb onto the podium. Claude Michely, who finished third in 1985 in the category 'Men's elite'. These 28 and 29 January 2017 are an opportunity for Luxembourg's sportsmen and -women to attempt to repeat the great performance or maybe even surpass it!

Here's the list of the Grand Duchy's chosen cyclists ready to start the race:

Category 'Men's juniors'

  • Parrotta Tristan
  • Schreiber Felix
  • Kess Nicolas
  • Leyder Misch
  • Conter Ken

Category 'Men's under 23'

  • Keiser Felix
  • Turchi Luc
  • Fries Noah

Category 'Women's under 23'  

  • Rees Edie Antonia

Category 'Women's Elite'

  • Majerus Christine, recently voted sportswoman of the year 2016
  • Lamborelle Nathalie
  • Godart Suzie

Category 'Men's Elite'

  • Helmig Christian
  • Bausch Gusty
  • Thiltges Scott
  • Reichling Lex
  • Schlechter Pit

The programme

The championships will begin with the 'Men's juniors' category. The race itself starts on Saturday 28 January 28 at 11 a.m.. The last event will be the 'Men's Elite' race on Sunday 29 January at 3 p.m.  

To see the complete programme, please click here.

All that now remains for us to do is wish all of our competing athletes a successful competition!


(Article written by the editorial team of the portal

  • Updated 27-01-2017