The winners of the 7th edition of the 'Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis'

05-filmpräis-photogroupeThe 7th edition of the 'Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis' was held on Saturday, 5 March 2016 at the Grand Theatre of the City of Luxembourg.

The ceremony – organized by Film Fund Luxembourg and Film Academy – was held in the presence of TRH the Grand Duke and the Grand Duchess, Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister, Minister of Culture, Minister for Communications and Media, Guy Arendt, Secretary of State for Culture, and Lydie Polfer, Mayor of the City Luxembourg.

The director of Film Fund Luxembourg, Guy Daleiden, and the president of Filmakademie, the Luxembourg Film Academy, Claude Waringo, are proud to present the winners resulting from the votes of the Academy.

Awards based on the voting results of the Academy's members

Best animated short film

'The Light Eater' by Sean Mc Cormack – Fabrique d’Images

Best short fiction film

'Quenottes' by Pascal Thiébaux and Gil Pinheiro – Zeilt Productions

Best technical contribution

Jako Raybaut – director of photography – 'Eng nei Zäit'

Best artistic contribution

Luc Schiltz – actor – 'Eng nei Zäit'

Best documentary

'Black Harvest' by Jean-Louis Schuller and Sean Clark – Antevita Films

Best animated co-production

'Song of the Sea' by Tomm Moore – Melusine Productions

Best co-production in fiction

'Le Tout Nouveau Testament' ('The Brand New Testament') by Jaco Van Dormael – Juliette Films

Best Luxembourg film

'Eng nei Zäit' by Christophe Wagner – Samsa Film

The various awards were presented by:

  • Alexandre Espigares (Oscar-awarded film animator in 2014) and Charlotte Elsen (the young actress in Babyalone) 
  • Anouk Wagener (actress) and Marco Lorenzini (actor) 
  • Jupp Gudenburg (actor) and Claude Lahr (director) 
  • Carlo Thoss (sound engineer) and Brigitte Kerger (production director) 
  • Jeanne Werner (actress) and Fabrizio Maltese (still photographer) 
  • Lucien Czuga (SuperJhemp) and Félix Koch (director) 
  • Eileen Byrne (director) and Guy Daleiden (director of Film Fund Luxembourg) 
  • Prime Minister Xavier Bettel and Lydie Polfer, mayor of the City of Luxembourg

Created in 2003, the 'Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis' aims at rewarding the best contributions to Luxembourg cinema, in order to underline works of quality, to encourage cinematographic creation, to foster the development of the Luxembourg film industry and to attract the public's attention to Luxembourgish productions.

(Source: press release of Film Fund Luxembourg)

  • Updated 08-03-2016