Childcare Service Vouchers

Because children who are well cared for from a very early age are stronger
Chèques service accueil

If you work and are responsible for one or more children, childcare can be a real challenge. The Grand Duchy has understood the substantial financial needs of parents who want to combine pursuing their professional careers with bringing up their children, particularly while the children are very young. Luxembourg has also understood that offering all children equal opportunities at the outset means providing them with access to the same chances for success, whatever their social background.

That's why the Luxembourg state provides all residents and all non-resident employees with financial assistance for having their children looked after in childcare structures. This takes the form of childcare service vouchers, called 'Chèques service accueil' (CSA), available for all children between the ages of 0 and 12 years. These vouchers can be used as payment in kind for childcare services, as well as a number of extra-curricular activities.

Quality and affordable childcare for all

The CSA system is for all children of parents residing in the Grand Duchy and for the children of cross-border employees, under the condition that they are citizens of an EU member state and at least one of the parents works in the Grand Duchy. Its aim is to make it easier for parents to combine their private lives and their work, and to ensure high-quality care for all children in approved structures that are subject to quality controls.

Through the CSA system, the state pays part of the cost of childcare, either in nurseries, childcare centres ('Maisons relais'), day-care centres, or the 'parental assistant' scheme, if the structure is approved as a service provider by the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth (Ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse, MENJE). In addition, all children between the ages of 0 and 4 years have the benefit of 20 hours of care free of charge in an approved childhood structure (excluding the 'parental assistant' scheme) to ensure their inclusion in the plurilingual education programme.

Are your children budding musicians, artists or soccer players? CSA cheques can also be used to pay for their musical, artistic or sport activities. Just ask the association when you enrol your child to find out whether it is approved as a CSA Service Provider ('Prestataire').

Fair scale for payment

As for the parents' financial contributions, the Luxembourg state has introduced a graduated scale based on the parents' income and the number of hours of childcare they use. This means that parents on a low income are entitled to more hours of childcare at a cheaper rate that high-earning parents.

How do I sign up?

Do you meet the conditions? To be able to use the CSA system, just apply for a membership card (myCard) from your local authority if you live in the Grand Duchy, or from the Children's Future Fund (Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants, CAE) if you are employed in the Grand Duchy but do not live there.

  • Updated 26-02-2019

Gutscheine für Kinderbetreuung

Weil Kinder stärker sind, wenn Sie von kleinauf gut betreut wurden
Chèques service accueil

Wenn Sie berufstätig sind und ein oder mehrere unterhaltsberechtigte Kinder haben, ist dessen bzw. deren Betreuung eine Herausforderung. Luxemburg ist sich der bedeutenden finanziellen Belastung der Eltern, die die Fortsetzung ihrer beruflichen Karriere und die Erziehung ihrer Kinder unter einen Hut bringen wollen, bewusst, vor allem wenn Letztere noch sehr klein sind. In Luxemburg weiß man auch, dass gleichwertige Chancen zu Beginn ihres Lebens für Kinder bedeuten, dass sie später die gleichen Erfolgschancen haben, unabhängig von ihrer sozialen Herkunft.

Aus diesem Grund garantiert der luxemburgische Staat jedem Einwohner und den nicht gebietsansässigen Arbeitnehmern eine finanzielle Beihilfe bei der Betreuung ihrer Kinder in Betreuungseinrichtungen. Diese Gutscheine für Kinderbetreuung (Chèques service accueil, CSA) richten sich an alle Kinder zwischen 0 und 12 Jahren und betreffen die Bezahlung der Kinderbetreuung sowie einiger außerschulischer Aktivitäten.

Eine qualitativ hochwertige Betreuung für alle

Das CSA-System richtet sich an alle Kinder von gebietsansässigen Eltern sowie an Kinder von Grenzgängern, sofern diese aus einem EU-Mitgliedsstaat stammen und mindestens ein Elternteil in Luxemburg arbeitet. Ziel ist es, den Eltern zu ermöglichen, Familien- und Berufsleben besser unter einen Hut zu bekommen, und allen Kindern eine qualitativ hochwertige Betreuung in den Einrichtungen mit vertraglicher Bindung an den Staat, die Qualitätskontrollen unterliegen, zu garantieren.

Anhand des CSA-Systems beteiligt sich der Staat an den Kinderbetreuungskosten, sei es in Kinderkrippen, Schülerhorten, Tagesstätten oder bei Tageseltern, wobei die besagte Einrichtung als Dienstleister vom Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend (Ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse, MENJE) anerkannt sein muss. Zudem haben alle Kinder zwischen 0 und 4 Jahren Anspruch auf 20 kostenlose Betreuungsstunden in einer anerkannten Betreuungseinrichtung (mit Ausnahme der Tageseltern), damit ihre Teilnahme am Programm zur mehrsprachigen Frühförderung gewährleistet ist.

Ist Ihr Kind dabei, sein Talent für Musik, Kunst oder Fußball zu entdecken? Die CSA können auch verwendet werden, um seine musikalischen, künstlerischen oder sportlichen Aktivitäten zu finanzieren. Ob der jeweilige Verein als "CSA-Dienstleister" anerkannt ist, erfahren Sie dort bei der Anmeldung des Kindes.

Eine faire Staffelung

Was die Beteiligung der Eltern an den Kosten angeht, hat der luxemburgische Staat eine Staffelung eingeführt, die u.a. auf dem Einkommen und der Zahl der in Anspruch genommenen Betreuungsstunden beruht. So haben Eltern mit einem geringeren Einkommen Anspruch auf mehr Betreuungsstunden zu einem vorteilhafteren Tarif als Eltern mit hohem Einkommen.

Wie kann man das CSA-System in Anspruch nehmen?

Erfüllen Sie die Bedingungen? Um das CSA-System in Anspruch zu nehmen, müssen Sie lediglich eine Mitgliedskarte (myCard) bei der Gemeindeverwaltung (im Falle von Gebietsansässigen) bzw. bei der Zukunftskasse (Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants, CAE) (im Falle von nicht-Gebietsansässigen) beantragen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 26-02-2019