Municipalities

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is divided into 102 municipalities.

There are no provinces or departments in the Grand Duchy. The municipality is the sole level of application of the principle of territorial decentralisation.

The most populated municipalities are: Luxembourg, the capital (114,090 inhabitants), Esch-sur-Alzette (34,400) and Differdange (25,400). Follow Dudelange, Pétange, Sanem and Hesperange with over 15,000 inhabitants.

From an administrative point of view, the municipality is an autonomous community with a territorial basis and is a legal entity. The municipality manages its assets and interests, under the control of the central government.

Each municipality has a municipal council directly elected for a six-year term by those inhabitants of the municipality who are entitled to vote.

The day-to-day management of the municipality falls to the mayor, or indeed the council of mayor and aldermen. The members of the council of mayor and aldermen are selected from among the municipal councillors. The relationship between the council of mayor and aldermen and the municipal council correspond to those of the government and the parliament at the national level.

Municipal council

The municipal council

  • represents the municipality;
  • is responsible for everything related to the municipality or municipal property, revenues, expenses, public works, municipal public institutions, the appointment of the municipal secretary, municipal cashier and municipal staff;
  • participates in the implementation of education;
  • creates regulations of internal administration and local policing.

The mayor presides over meetings of the municipal council and leads the discussions. In case of absence, an alderman is designated to replace him.

The sessions of the municipal council are public. However, two thirds of the members present may, for reasons of public order and when facing serious incoveniences, decide to call for a closed session, the reasons of which must be explained in the session's minutes.

The Council of Mayor and Aldermen

The council of mayor and aldermen is the body responsible for daily administration of the municipality.

It exercises not only purely municipal functions, but it also works, in some cases, as an organ of the central government. As such, the college of aldermen is responsible, in the territory of the municipality, for law enforcement and police regulations under the supervision of the District Commissioner.

Luxembourg City is placed directly under the supervision of the Minister of the Interior.

Mayors are appointed or dismissed by the Grand Duke. The cities' aldermen are appointed by the Grand Duke while those of the other municipalities are appointed by the Minister of the Interior.

As the body of municipal power, the council of mayor and aldermen is responsible, among others, for the publication and implementation of the decisions of the municipal council, the administration of the municipality's property, rural policing, management of municipal works, etc.

  • Updated 30-07-2018

Gemeinden

Das Großherzogtum Luxemburg ist in 102 Gemeinden unterteilt.

Der luxemburgische Staat kennt weder Provinzen, noch Departements. Die Gemeinde ist die einzige Anwendung des Grundsatzes der territorialen Dezentralisierung.

Die am meisten bevölkerten Gemeinden sind: Luxemburg, die Hauptstadt (114.090 Einwohner), dann Esch/Alzette (34.400) und Differdingen (25.400). Es folgen Düdelingen, Petingen, Sanem und Hesperingen mit über 15.000 Einwohnern (Zahlen am 1. Januar 2017).

Verwaltungstechnisch gesehen bildet die Gemeinde eine autonome Gebietskörperschaft, auf territorialer Basis, und besitzt die Rechtspersönlichkeit. Sie verwaltet ihr Vermögen und ihre Interessen mittels ihrer lokalen Vertreter, das Ganze unter der Aufsicht der Zentralregierung.

Jede Gemeinde verfügt über einen Gemeinderat, der von den wahlberechtigten Einwohnern der Gemeinde in direkter Wahl für einen Zeitraum von sechs Jahren gewählt wird.

Die tägliche Verwaltung der Gemeinde wird durch den Bürgermeister, bzw. durch das Bürgermeister- und Schöffenkollegium gewährleistet. Die Mitglieder des Bürgermeister- und Schöffenkollegiums werden innerhalb der Gemeinderatsmitglieder gewählt. Die Beziehungen zwischen dem Bürgermeister- und Schöffenkollegium und dem Gemeinderat entsprechen jenen zwischen der Regierung und der Abgeordnetenkammer auf nationaler Ebene.

Gemeinderat

Der Gemeinderat

  • repräsentiert die Gemeinde;
  • ist zuständig für alles was das Gemeindeinteresse betrifft, sei es die Gemeindegüter, die Einnahmen, die Ausgaben, die zu erledigenden Arbeiten, öffentliche Gemeindegebäude, die Nominierung des Gemeindesekretärs, des Gemeindeeinnehmers, sowie des Gemeindepersonals;
  • beteiligt sich an der Umsetzung des Unterrichtswesens;
  • macht Vorschriften in Bezug auf die interne Verwaltung und die Gemeindepolizei.

Der Bürgermeister leitet die Sitzungen des Gemeinderats sowie die Debatten. Im Falle seiner Abwesenheit ernennt er einen Schöffen, um ihn zu ersetzen.

Die Sitzungen des Gemeinderats sind öffentlich. Zwei Drittel der anwesenden Mitglieder können, aus Gründen der öffentlichen Ordnung oder großer Unannehmlichkeiten, eine geschlossene Sitzung ausrufen, unter der Bedingung, dass die Gründe dafür in einem Protokoll festgehalten werden.

Bürgermeister- und Schöffenkollegium

Das Bürgermeister- und Schöffenkollegium ist das alltägliche Exekutiv- und Verwaltungsorgan der Gemeinde.

Es übt nicht nur rein kommunale Aufgaben aus, sondern funktioniert auch in einigen Fällen als Organ der Zentralregierung. Als solches ist das Schöffenkollegium dafür zuständig, auf dem Gebiet der Gemeinde die Ausführung der Gesetze und der polizeilichen Vorschriften unter der Aufsicht des Bezirkskommissar auszuführen.

Luxemburg-Stadt steht unter direkter Aufsicht des Innenministers.

Die Bürgermeister werden vom Großherzog ernannt und entlassen. Die Schöffen der Städte werden vom Großherzog ernannt und jene der anderen Gemeinden vom Innenminister.

Als Organ auf Gemeindeebene ist das Bürgermeister- und Schöffenkollegium unter anderem für die Veröffentlichung und Umsetzung der Beschlüsse des Gemeinderates, für die Verwaltung des Vermögens der Gemeinde, die Ausübung der ländlichen Polizei, die Verwaltung von Gemeindearbeiten, usw., zuständig.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 30-07-2018