Government

The work of the government

The Constitution confers executive power on the Grand Duke. He is responsible for the implementation of laws by adopting regulations as required. But in practice, this task is performed by the government.

The Constitution also gives the Head of State total freedom in choosing the members of his government. But the principle of democracy implies that ministers should enjoy not only the trust of the Grand Duke but also that of the parliamentary majority. The Grand Duke therefore respects the results of parliamentary elections by appointing a formateur to form a government that is supported by the parliamentary majority.

As a body of the executive power, the government has overall power to manage public affairs. Each member of the government heads one or more ministerial departments to which he/she was appointed by the Grand Duke.

The government enjoys the right to propose legislation, known as governmental initiative, which allows it to table bills (projets de loi).

The members of the government meet on a weekly basis in the Government Council to discuss all the items on the agenda. Any matters submitted to the Grand Duke must be discussed beforehand by the Government Council. The Government Council also discusses bills that are tabled in the Chamber of Deputies. Decisions are taken by a majority of votes.

The government manages the state's income and expenditure budget, which is adopted each year.

Each year, the government makes a number of statements:

The Bettel-Schneider-Braz Government

The government resulting from the general election held on 14 October 2018 is a coalition government involving the Democratic Party (DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (LSAP) and the Greens (déi gréng), under the leadership of Xavier Bettel (DP).

The Bettel-Schneider-Braz Government was sworn in on 5 December 2018. It comprises:

  • One Prime Minister;
  • Two Deputy Prime Ministers;
  • 14 members bearing the title of Minister.

The programme of the Bettel-Schneider-Braz government was presented at the Chamber of Deputies on 11 December 2018. This programme sets the broad political lines that the government will follow in the current legislative period.

The next legislative elections are going to take place in 2023.

  • Updated 04-02-2019

Die Regierung

Die Aufgaben der Regierung 

Laut der Verfassung ist die Exekutive dem Großherzog zugeteilt. In dieser Eigenschaft stellt er die Durchführung von Gesetzen sicher, indem er die notwendigen Verordnungen festlegt. In der Praxis wird diese Aufgabe jedoch von der Regierung ausgeführt.

Die Verfassung gewährt dem Staatsoberhaupt außerdem absolute Freiheit bei der Wahl der Regierungsmitglieder. Allerdings erfordert das demokratische Prinzip, dass die Minister nicht nur sein Vertrauen, sondern auch das der parlamentarischen Mehrheit genießen. Folglich achtet der Großherzog die Ergebnisse der Parlamentswahlen, indem er einen Regierungsbildner ernennt, der anschließend die Aufgabe übernimmt, eine Regierung zu bilden, die in der parlamentarischen Mehrheit Anhänger findet.

Als Exekutivorgan besitzt die Regierung eine allgemeine Befugnis zur Verwaltung der öffentlichen Angelegenheiten. Jedes Regierungsmitglied befindet sich an der Spitze eines oder mehrerer Ressorts, in die sie vom Großherzog berufen wurden.

Die Regierung ist zudem mit dem Recht der Gesetzesinitiative ausgestattet, das es ihr ermöglicht, Gesetzentwürfe einzubringen.

Die Regierungsmitglieder treten wöchentlich im Regierungsrat zusammen, um über alle Themen auf der Tagesordnung zu beraten. Über alle Angelegenheiten, die vor den Großherzog gebracht werden, muss im Vorfeld im Regierungsrat beraten werden. Der Regierungsrat berät ebenfalls über Gesetzentwürfe, die in der Abgeordnetenkammer hinterlegt werden. Entscheidungen werden per Mehrheitsabstimmung getroffen.

Die Regierung verwaltet den Haushalt der Einnahmen und Ausgaben, der jährlich verabschiedet wird.

Jedes Jahr gibt die Regierung mehrere Erklärungen ab:

Die Regierung Bettel-Schneider-Braz

Die aus den Parlamentswahlen vom 14. Oktober 2018 hervorgegangene Regierung ist eine Koalitionsregierung aus der Demokratischen Partei (DP), der Luxemburger Sozialistischen Arbeiterpartei (LSAP) und den Grünen (déi gréng), unter Leitung von Xavier Bettel (DP)

Die Regierung Bettel-Schneider-Braz wurde am 5. Dezember 2018 vereidigt. Sie setzt sich zusammen aus:

  • Einem Premierminister;
  • Zwei Vizepremierministern;
  • 14 Mitgliedern im Ministerrang,

Das Programm der Regierung Bettel-Schneider-Braz wurde am 11. Dezember 2018 der Abgeordnetenkammer vorgestellt. Dieses Programm legt die allgemeinen politischen Richtlinien fest, denen die Regierung in der laufenden Legislaturperiode folgen wird.

Die nächsten Parlamentswahlen finden 2023 statt.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 04-02-2019