Luxembourg's Social Model

The 'Tripartite' or 'Luxembourg model' is based on an institutionalised and continuous dialogue between the government, employers and unions on important economic and social issues, aimed at finding a consensus.

History

The 'Luxembourg model' was implemented in the 1970s, following the severe steel crisis that threatened to deeply shake foundations of Luxembourg society.

The Law of 26 July 1975 authorised the government to implement measures intended to prevent redundancies due to a slowdown in the economic cycle and ensure the maintenance of jobs. At the same time it created the Economic Committee in its 'Tripartite' composition, responsible, among others, for closely monitoring the evolution of the economic situation and making a report to the government once a month.

In 1977, due to the worsening problems in the steel sector, the government brought together a 'Tripartite Steel Conference', which developed an action plan for continued economic growth and full employment.

The Law of 24 December 24 institutionalised a 'Tripartite Coordination Committee' to be convened in case of a declining economic and social situation.

On 19 March 1979 the 'Tripartite Coordination Committee' reached a first agreement concerning the restructuring and modernisation of the steel industry.

The success of this first experience of the Tripartite 'government-employers-labour', which helped avoid the dismissal of thousands of steel workers, is indisputable. On the one hand, the Luxembourg steel industry could be maintained and modernised to meet the requirements of a modern steel industry. On the other hand, by the implementation of a considerable number of specific social measures, mass unemployment could be avoided.

The Grand Duchy managed to restructure its steel industry in 1978. And this to a stunning success, since ARBED eventually became the third largest steel producer in the world. After mergers, ARBED became Arcelor and then ArcelorMittal, based in Luxembourg, which meanwhile has become the world's largest steel producer. It is through the development of the steel industry that the Grand Duchy laid the foundations of its current economic success. The Luxembourg financial centre has in turn had a remarkable growth, strengthened by the development of communication technologies.

Meanwhile, sectoral tripartites emerged, and the search for consensus on economic and social issues in such a consultative body has become the norm.

Conceived as an instrument of crisis, limited in time and to one sector (steel), the tripartite has become a kind of institutionalised and permanent platform for dialogue.

What about nowadays?

Nowadays, four institutions guarantee a permanent social dialogue: the Economic Committee, the Economic and Social Council, the Tripartite Coordination Committee and the Tripartite Steel Conference.

Economic Committee

Established in 1975, the Economic Committee (Comité de conjoncture) consists of three ministers and representatives of professional organisations of employers and employees. This committee convenes monthly under the chairmanship of the Minister of the Economy and/or the Minister of Labour and Employment. Its role is to take into account the situation of companies forced to resort to short-time working arrangements and to propose, if needed, compensatory payments to companies resorting to short-time work. The Economic Committee can also decide to launch measures of 'extraordinary works of public interest'.

The Economic and Social Council

The Economic and Social Council (Conseil économique et social, CES) is composed of employer, employee and government representatives. This body of social consultation advises on any legislative or regulatory action relating to professional sectors and the entire national economy.

Tripartite Coordination Committee

Established in 1977, it brings together representatives from the government (Minister of Finance, Minister of the Economy, Minister of Labour and Employment), employers (Chamber of Commerce, trades) and labour (trade unions). The Tripartite Coordination Committee is presided by the Prime Minister. Its function is to reach consensus on important economic and social issues. Press releases concerning the Tripartite Coordination Committee are published on www.gouvernement.lu.

Tripartite Steel Conference

The Tripartite Steel Conference is a direct consequence of the crisis in the steel sector, the mainstay of the Luxembourg economy until the late 1980s. It is only relevant to the steel industry. The negotiations in this conference have prevented major problems of unemployment, by putting in place a system of programmed and progressive reduction of employment in the steel industry, particularly through natural turnover and the use of early retirement at the age of 57 years.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Das luxemburgische Sozialmodell

Die Tripartite (Dreierrunde) oder das "luxemburgische Modell" basiert auf einem institutionalisierten und kontinuierlichen Dialog zwischen Regierung, Arbeitgebern und Gewerkschaften über wichtige wirtschaftliche und soziale Fragen mit dem Ziel, einen Konsens zu finden.

Geschichtlicher Überblick

Das besagte "luxemburgische Modell" wurde in den 1970er Jahren eingeführt, nach der schweren Stahlkrise, die die luxemburgische Gesellschaft zutiefst zu erschüttern drohte.

Das Gesetz vom 26. Juli 1975 berechtigte die Regierung dazu, Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um Entlassungen aus Konjunkturgründen zu verhindern und Arbeitsplätze zu erhalten. Es schuf gleichzeitig auch den Konjunkturausschuss in "dreigliedriger" Zusammensetzung. Zu dessen Aufgaben gehörte unter anderem, die Entwicklung der Wirtschaftslage zu überwachen und einen monatlichen Bericht darüber für die Regierung zu erstellen.

1977 beruft die Regierung, bedingt durch die Verschlimmerung der Probleme in der Stahlindustrie, eine "Tripartite-Konferenz" oder Dreierkonferenz ein, die einen Aktionsplan für ein anhaltendes Wirtschaftswachstum und Vollbeschäftigung vorsieht.

Das Gesetz vom 24. Dezember 1977 institutionalisiert einen "dreiparteilichen Koodinierungsausschuss" (Comité de coordination tripartite), der im Fall einer Verschlechterung der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Lage einberufen wird.

Am 19. März 1979 erlangte der dreiparteiliche Koordinierungsausschuss eine erste Vereinbarung zur Umstrukturierung und Modernisierung der Stahlindustrie.

Der Erfolg dieser ersten Erfahrung der "Tripartite" zwischen Regierung, Arbeitergebern und Arbeitnehmern, der es gelang, die Entlassung von Tausenden von Stahlarbeitern zu vermeiden, ist unbestritten. Auf der einen Seite konnte das Fundament der Luxemburger Stahlindustrie gerettet und modernisiert werden, um den Anforderungen einer modernen Stahlindustrie zu entsprechen. Auf der anderen Seite konnte die Massenarbeitslosigkeit durch die Umsetzung einer beträchtlichen Anzahl von spezifischen sozialen Maßnahmen vermieden werden.

Das Großherzogtum hat es geschafft, seine Stahlindustrie im Jahr 1978 neu zu strukturieren. Sehr gut sogar, da die ARBED im Nachhinein zum weltweit drittgrößten Stahlproduzenten wird. Nach einigen Fusionen ist die ARBED, die zu Arcelor und dann zu ArcelorMittal mit Sitz in Luxemburg wurde, inzwischen der weltweit größte Stahlproduzent. Das Großherzogtum verdankt die Grundlagen seines aktuellen wirtschaftlichen Erfolgs der Entwicklung der Stahlindustrie. Der Finanzplatz Luxemburg ist seinerseits bemerkenswert gewachsen, unterstützt durch die Entwicklung der Kommunikationstechnologien.

In der Zwischenzeit sind sektorielle "Tripartites" entstanden und die Suche nach einvernehmlichen Lösungen in Bezug auf wirtschaftliche und soziale Probleme innerhalb eines solchen Beratungsorgans ist zur Norm geworden.

Die Tripartite, die als ein in der Zeit und im Sektor (die Stahlindustrie) beschränktes Kriseninstrument konzipiert worden war, wurde zu einer Art Plattform eines ständigen institutionalisierten Dialogs.

Und heute?

Heute sorgen vier Institutionen für den ständigen Sozialdialog: der Konjunkturausschuss (Comité de conjoncture), der Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat (Conseil économique et social), der dreiparteiliche Koordinierungsausschuss (Comité de coordination tripartite) und die Stahltripartite (Conférence tripartite sidérurgie).

Konjunkturausschuss

Der Konjunkturausschuss, der 1975 gegründet wurde, besteht aus drei Ministern, sowie aus Vertretern der Berufsorganisationen der Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmer. Dieser Ausschuss trifft sich monatlich unter dem Vorsitz des Ministers für Wirtschaft und/oder des Ministers für Arbeit und Beschäftigung. Seine Aufgabe ist es, die Lage der Unternehmen zu berücksichtigen, die auf Arbeitszeitverkürzungen zurückgreifen müssen, und gegebenenfalls Ausgleichszahlungen an Unternehmen vorzuschlagen, die Mitarbeiter in Kurzarbeit beschäftigen. Der Konjunkturausschuss kann beschließen, Maßnahmen "außerordentlicher Arbeiten im Interesse des Allgemeinwohls" zu ergreifen.

Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat

Der Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat (WSR) besteht aus Vertretern der Arbeitnehmer, der Arbeitgeber und der Regierung. Dieses soziale Beratungsgremium nimmt zu jedem Gesetz oder jeder Verordnung, in Bezug auf eine bestimmte Berufsgruppe oder die gesamte nationale Wirtschaft, Stellung.

Dreiparteilicher Koordinierungsausschuss

1977 gegründet, vereint er Vertreter der Regierung (Minister der Finanzen, Minister für Wirtschaft, Minister für Arbeit und Beschäftigung), der Arbeitgeber (Handelskammer, Handwerkskammer) und der Arbeitnehmer (Gewerkschaften). Der dreiparteiliche Koordinierungsausschuss wird vom Premierminister präsidiert. Seine Aufgabe ist es, einvernehmliche Lösungen in Bezug auf wichtige wirtschaftliche und soziale Fragen zu finden. Die Pressemitteilungen zu den Sitzungen des dreiparteilichen Koordinierungsausschusses finden Sie auf www.gouvernement.lu

Stahltripartite

Die Stahltripartite ist aus der Stahlkrise heraus entstanden, der Krise in einem Sektor, der bis Ende der 1980er Jahre Hauptpfeiler der luxemburgischen Wirtschaft war. Sie betrifft ausschließlich den Stahlsektor. Die Verhandlungen, die auf dieser Konferenz geführt wurden, haben dazu beigetragen, größere Probleme im Bereich der Kündigungen zu verhindern, um gleichzeitig ein System von progressiver und programmatischer Verringerung der Beschäftigung im Stahlbereich zu fördern, vor allem durch reguläre Pensionierungen und durch den Rückgriff auf die Frührente mit 57 Jahren.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015