Luxembourg, seat of European institutions

The night of 24 to 25 July 1952 was to enter the history books. After 18 hours of talks, Joseph Bech, Luxembourg's Minister of Foreign Affairs, suggested that the High Authority of the ECSC, the European Coal and Steel Community, should begin its work in Luxembourg. His proposal was finally adopted.

The High Authority of the ECSC remained in Luxembourg until the mid-1960s, i.e. until the merger of the executive bodies of the ECSC, European Economic Community and Euratom, from which the European Commission evolved. On several occasions, the 'seat issue' has given rise to heated political discussions.

Today, the European Commission and the Council of Ministers have their seat in Brussels. Strasbourg has been confirmed as the seat of the European Parliament, but most financial and legal European institutions also have their headquarters in Luxembourg.

European institutions established in Luxembourg

The city of Luxembourg is home to

  • the Secretariat of the European Parliament;
  • a Directorate-General and services of the European Commission, in particular the statistical office Eurostat and a large part of the translation service;
  • the Court of Justice of the European Union, the General Court and the Civil Service Tribunal, with an Appeal Court for the European Unitary Patent due to take up residence in the near future;
  • the European Court of Auditors;
  • the European Investment Bank and the European Investment Fund;
  • the Consumers, Health, Agriculture and Food Executive Agency (CHAFEA);
  • the Publications Office of the European Union, official publisher of the publications of the institutions of the EU and in particular of the Official Journal of the European Union, which contains legislation in the form of regulations, directives and decisions.

In April, June and October, the Council of the European Union holds its sessions in Luxembourg.

To secure the existence and functioning of the economic and monetary union, the European Financial Stability Facility (EFSF) and the European Stability Mechanism (ESM) were created in 2010 and 2012 respectively, as bodies of the euro area member states. They are based in Luxembourg.

Some 11.000 international civil servants, many of which are Luxembourgers, are located in Luxembourg.

Two institutions of the European School of Luxembourg (EEL I and EEL II), created by the governments of the member states of the European Union, are intended primarily for children of the staff of the European institutions.

  • Updated 12-05-2015

Luxemburg, Sitz europäischer Institutionen

Die Nacht vom 24. auf den 25. Juli 1952 war eine historische Nacht. Nach 18 Verhandlungsstunden hat der luxemburgische Außenminister Joseph Bech vorgeschlagen, dass die Hohe Behörde der EGKS, Europäische Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl, ihre Arbeit in Luxemburg beginnt, ein Vorschlag der schlussendlich angenommen wurde.

Die Hohe Behörde der EGKS blieb bis Mitte der 1960er Jahre in Luxemburg, d. h. bis zur Fusion der Organe der EGKS, der EWG und Euratom, aus der die Europäische Kommission hervorging. Bei mehreren Gelegenheiten, gab die "Sitz-Debatte" Anlass zu heftigen politischen Diskussionen.

Heute haben die Europäische Kommission und der Ministerrat ihren Sitz in Brüssel. Straßburg wurde als Sitz des Europäischen Parlaments bestätigt, während die meisten finanziellen und rechtlichen Institutionen ihren Sitz in Luxemburg haben.

Europäische Institutionen in Luxemburg

Folgende europäische Institutionen, Agenturen und Organe haben ihren Sitz in Luxemburg:

  • das Sekretariat des Europäischen Parlaments;
  • eine Generaldirektion sowie Dienststellen der Europäischen Kommission, insbesondere das statistische Amt Eurostat und ein Großteil des Übersetzungsdienstes;
  • der Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union, das Gericht sowie das Gericht für den öffentlichen Dienst; ein Berufungsgericht für das einheitliche europäische Patent wird ebenfalls ins naher Zukunft seinen Sitz hier haben;
  • der Europäische Rechnungshof;
  • Europäische Investitionsbank und Europäischer Investitionsfonds;
  • die Exekutivagentur für Verbraucher, Gesundheit, Landwirtschaft und Lebensmittel;
  • das Amt für Veröffentlichungen der Europäischen Union, offizieller Herausgeber der Veröffentlichungen der EU-Institutionen und vor allem des "Amtsblattes der Europäischen Union", das die Rechtsakte in Form von Verordnungen, Richtlinien und Beschlüssen enthält.

Im April, Juni und Oktober tagt der Rat der Europäischen Union in Luxemburg.

Um den Fortbestand und das Funktionieren der Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion zu sichern, wurden 2010 bzw. 2012 die Europäische Finanzstabilisierungsfazilität (EFSF) und der Europäische Stabilitätsmechanismus (ESM) in Form von Einrichtungen der Mitgliedsstaaten der Eurozone mit Sitz in Luxemburg geschaffen.

Rund 11.000 internationale Beamte, darunter viele Luxemburger, arbeiten in Luxemburg.

Die zwei Einrichtungen der Europäischen Schule Luxemburg (EEL I und EEL II), die durch die Regierungen der Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union gegründet wurden, sind in erster Linie für Kinder von EU-Bediensteten vorgesehen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 21-03-2018