Luxembourgers in European Institutions

As a founding member of the European Union, Luxembourg has a role to play in Europe and in the world. From the first days of the existence of the European institutions, Luxembourgers have assumed important tasks. You will find details here of Luxembourg's current representatives in the European institutions.

European Parliament

At the European Parliament, Luxembourg is represented by six MEPs.

European Commission

Within the European Commission, Luxembourg is entitled to one Commissioner of Luxembourg nationality.

Jean-Claude Juncker, former Prime Minister of Luxembourg and former leader of the Eurogroup, became president of the European Commission on 1 November 2014. He is the first president of the European Commission to be elected to the post by the European Parliament. Juncker's term of office runs until 2019; he is the third Luxembourger to preside the European Commission, after Gaston Thorn and Jacques Santer.

Earlier, Viviane Reding was a member of the European Commission from 1999 to 2014. In February 2010 she became vice-president of the European Commission, with responsibility for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. She is currently an MEP.

In the past, two Luxembourgers have been presidents of the European Commission: Gaston Thorn and Jacques Santer.

During his term in office as head of the EU executive (6 January 1981 to 5 January 1985), Gaston Thorn was particularly involved in the negotiations on the second enlargement of the Community to include Spain and Portugal.

While Jacques Santer was its president (23 January 1995 to 15 September 1999), the European Commission made progress on a number of European issues, such as the introduction of the euro, the enlargement of the EU to include countries in Central and Eastern Europe, and employment policy.

Council of the European Union

The current president of the European Commission, Luxembourg's former Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker, headed the euro area from 2005 to 2013. Jean-Claude Juncker was the first permanent president of the Eurogroup, a body that brings together the Finance Ministers of the member countries of the euro area. His first term of office ran from 1 January 2005 to 31 December 2006. At the Eurogroup meeting in Helsinki on 8 September 2006, he was reappointed to the presidency for a term of two years, ending on 31 December 2008. In Brussels on 18 January 2010, his term of office was once again renewed for a further two and a half years. Kept in office in July 2012, Jean-Claude Juncker began his fourth term, but ended it on 21 January 2013.

Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU)

Luxembourg's member of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) is François Biltgen; he has been a judge at the Court of Justice since 7 October 2013. The Court of Justice is composed of 27 judges and eight advocates general.

Marc Jaeger has been president of the General Court of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) since 17 September 2007. Before becoming its president, he had been a judge at the General Court since 1996.

Established in 1987, the General Court is one of the three jurisdictions of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU). It handles appeals by the member States against the European Commission and against certain acts of the Council, as well as appeals addressed to it by both natural and legal persons. The General Court is made up of at least one judge per member State.

European Court of Auditors

Henri Grethen has been Luxembourg's member of the European Court of Auditors since 1 January 2008.

European Central Bank

The president of the Luxembourg Central Bank (BCL) is a member of the Council of Governors of the European Central Bank.

Luxembourg's Yves Mersch began his eight-year term of office as a member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank on 15 December 2012.

European Economic and Social Committee

Luxembourg has six representatives at the European Economic and Social Committee.

Committee of the Regions

Luxembourg has six representatives at the Committee of the Regions.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Die Luxemburger in den europäischen Institutionen

Als Gründungsmitglied der Europäischen Union erfüllt Luxemburg seine Rolle in Europa und in der Welt. Seit Beginn des Bestehens der europäischen Institutionen haben die Luxemburger wichtige Aufgaben innerhalb dieser angenommen. Hier finden Sie die aktuellen luxemburgischen Vertreter in den europäischen Institutionen.

Europäisches Parlament

Im Europäischen Parlament wird Luxemburg von sechs Abgeordneten vertreten.

Europäische Kommission

Innerhalb der Europäischen Kommission hat Luxemburg das Recht auf einen Kommissar mit luxemburgischer Staatsangehörigkeit.

Seit dem 1. November 2014 ist der ehemalige luxemburgische Premierminister und Vorsitzender der Eurogruppe Jean-Claude Juncker Präsident der Europäischen Kommission. Jean-Claude Juncker ist der erste vom Europäischen Parlament gewählte Präsident der Europäischen Kommission. Er wird sein Amt bis 2019 ausführen und ist nach Gaston Thorn und Jacques Santer der dritte Luxemburger an der Spitze der Europäischen Kommission.

Davor war Viviane Reding von 1999 bis 2014 Mitglied der Europäischen Kommission. Ab Februar 2010 war sie Vizepräsidentin der Europäischen Kommission, zuständig für Justiz, Grundrechte und Bürgerschaft. Derzeit ist sie EU-Abgeordnete.

In der Vergangenheit haben zwei Luxemburger die Europäische Kommission geleitet: Gaston Thorn und Jacques Santer.

Während seiner Amtszeit als Chef der EU-Exekutive (6. Januar 1981 bis 5. Januar 1985), war Gaston Thorn in den Verhandlungen für die zweite Erweiterung der Gemeinschaften durch Spanien und Portugal besonders impliziert.

Die Kommission unter dem Vorsitz von Jacques Santer (23. Januar 1995 bis 15. September 1999) hat es ermöglicht, in verschiedenen europäischen Themen Fortschritte zu machen, wie die Einführung des Euro, die EU-Erweiterung durch mittel- und osteuropäische Länder und die Beschäftigungspolitik.

Rat der Europäischen Union

Jean-Claude Juncker, amtierender Präsident der Europäischen Kommission und ehemaliger luxemburgischer Premierminister, stand von 2005 bis 2013 an der Spitze der Eurogruppe. Jean-Claude Juncker war der erste ständige Präsident der Eurogruppe, ein Organ, das die Finanzminister der Euro-Länder versammelt. Er absolvierte seine erste Amtszeit vom 1. Januar 2005 bis 31. Dezember 2006. Bei der Eurogruppe-Sitzung vom 8. September 2006 in Helsinki wurde er in seiner Funktion als Präsident für eine Amtszeit von zwei Jahren bis 31. Dezember 2008 bestätigt. In Brüssel wurde er am 18. Januar 2010 noch einmal für eine weitere Amtszeit von zweieinhalb Jahren bestätigt. Nach einer weiteren Amtsbestätigung im Juli 2012 hat Jean-Claude Juncker ein viertes Mandat ausgeübt, das er am 21. Januar 2013 auf eigene Initiative beendet hat.

Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union (EuGH)

Das luxemburgische Mitglied am Europäischen Gerichtshof (EuGH) ist François Biltgen. Seit dem 7. Oktober 2013 ist er Richter am EuGH. Der Gerichtshof besteht aus 27 Richtern und acht Generalanwälten.

Marc Jaeger ist seit 17. September 2007 Präsident des Gerichts erster Instanz des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Union (EuGH). Er war seit 1996 Richter am Gericht, bevor er dessen Präsident wurde.

Das Gericht, das 1987 gegründet wurde, ist eine der drei Gerichtsbarkeiten des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Union (EuGH). Es befasst sich mit den Berufungen der Mitgliedstaaten gegen die Europäische Kommission und gegen bestimmte Handlungen des Rates sowie mit Berufungen, die von physischen und juristischen Personen eingereicht werden. Das Gericht besteht aus mindestens einem Richter pro Mitgliedstaat.

Europäischer Rechnungshof

Das luxemburgische Mitglied des Europäischen Rechnungshofes ist seit dem 1. Januar 2008 Henri Grethen.

Europäische Zentralbank

Der Präsident der Luxemburger Zentralbank (BCL) ist Mitglied im Gouverneursrat der Europäischen Zentralbank.

Seit dem 15. Dezember 2012 tagt der Luxemburger Yves Mersch für acht Jahre im Vorstand der Europäischen Zentralbank.

Europäischer Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschuss

Luxemburg verfügt über sechs Vertreter im Europäischen Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschuss.

Europäischer Ausschuss der Regionen

Luxemburg hat sechs Vertreter im Europäischen Ausschuss der Regionen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 30-07-2018