Political crisis and 1919 referendum

The crisis was triggered immediately following the departure of the Germans. In Parliament, the representatives of the Left demanded the removal of the dynasty. They reproached the sovereign her relations with the occupier during the war and her for having intervened in political life in favour of the political Right. The motion was only just rejected.

On an international level, the Luxembourg government also had to face criticism with regard to Grand Duchess Marie-Adélaïde. France and Belgium were carrying out secret negotiations, which risked having repercussions on the independence of Luxembourg. On 9 January 1919, the volunteer corps (Luxembourg army) revolted and a committee of public safety declared Luxembourg a republic. These movements did not garner public support and were swiftly stifled by the intervention of French troops. But the position of Grand Duchess Marie-Adélaïde was definitely compromised. The sovereign decided to abdicate in favour of her younger sister Charlotte, who succeeded her without delay (15 January 1919).

To defuse the crisis, the Luxembourg government decided to organise a double referendum. The public was to be consulted on the form of the state (monarchy or republic) and the economic orientation of the country following the unraveling of the Zollverein. On the one hand, the voice of the population was intended to make an impression at the very moment the victors were gathered in Versailles to redraw the European map according to the Wilson principle of the right of nations to self-determination. On the other hand, the referendum was supposed to reinforce the legitimacy of the new grand duchess. Voting for the first time under universal suffrage, on September 28 1919 a large majority pronounced itself in favour of keeping the monarchy (80%) and for an economic union with France (73%). France, however, withdrew and advised the Luxembourg government to turn towards Belgium. Following harsh negotiations, the agreement establishing the Belgo-Luxembourg Economic Union (UEBL) was signed in 1921.

(Source: About... History of Luxembourg)

  • Updated 30-07-2018

Die politische Krise und das Referendum von 1919

Die Krise brach unmittelbar nach dem Abzug der Deutschen aus. In der Abgeordnetenkammer forderten die linken Abgeordneten die Absetzung der Dynastie. Sie warfen der Großherzogin vor, während des Krieges Beziehungen zur Besatzungsmacht unterhalten zu haben und durch ihr Eingreifen in das politische Leben die politische Rechte begünstigt zu haben. Der Antrag wurde mit knapper Mehrheit abgelehnt.

Auf internationaler Ebene war die Luxemburger Regierung ebenfalls mit einer feindseligen Einstellung gegenüber Großherzogin Marie-Adélaïde konfrontiert. Frankreich und Belgien führten geheime Verhandlungen mit möglichen Auswirkungen auf die Unabhängigkeit Luxemburgs. Am 9. Januar 1919 kam es zu einer Revolte der Freiwilligenkompanie (der Luxemburger Armee) und ein Wohlfahrtsausschuss rief die Republik aus. Diese Bewegungen stießen jedoch nicht auf die Zustimmung des Volkes und wurden bald darauf von den französischen Truppen erstickt. Dennoch war die Stellung von Großherzogin Marie-Adélaïde endgültig beschädigt. Die Großherzogin beschloss, zugunsten ihrer jüngeren Schwester Charlotte abzudanken, die ihre Nachfolge sofort antrat (15. Januar 1919).

Um die Krise zu entschärfen, beschloss die Luxemburger Regierung ein Doppelreferendum abzuhalten. Bei der Volksbefragung ging es um die Staatsform (Monarchie oder Republik) und um die wirtschaftliche Ausrichtung des Landes nach dem Austritt aus dem Zollverein. Einerseits sollte die Stimme des Volkes Eindruck machen zu einem Zeitpunkt, da die in Versailles versammelten Siegermächte die europäische Landkarte nach Wilsons Grundsatz der Selbstbestimmung der Völker neu ordneten. Andererseits sollte das Referendum der Rechtmäßigkeit der neuen Großherzogin eine tragfähigere Grundlage verleihen. Als am 28. September 1919, und zwar erstmals mit allgemeinem Wahlrecht, abgestimmt wurde, war eine breite Mehrheit für die Beibehaltung der Monarchie (80 %) und für eine Wirtschaftsunion mit Frankreich (73%). Frankreich änderte jedoch seine Meinung und riet der Luxemburger Regierung, sich an Belgien zu wenden. Nach harten Verhandlungen wurde 1921 das Abkommen über die Belgisch-luxemburgische Wirtschaftsunion (UEBL) unterzeichnet.

(Quelle: A propos...Geschichte Luxemburgs)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 30-07-2018