All Saints' Day and Trauliicht

Commemorating saints and chasing spirits

Autumn, a rainy season characterised by shortening evenings and falling leaves, often seems to mark a lull between the sunny summer months and the festive period around Christmas. But the bleak days are livened up by two interlinked traditions: Allerhellegen (All Saints' Day) and Trauliicht, celebrated over the religious triduum of Allhallowtide, a three-day period of observance between 31 October and 2 November.

Toussaint - Cimetière
© Roger Nilles / cathol.lu

All Saints' Day, celebrated on 1 November, is the festival of all Christian saints, including those who have not been canonised and whose sainthood is known only to God. All Souls' Day, which takes place the following day, is a celebration of all the deceased who, according to Catholic doctrine, are in Purgatory and have not yet entered into full union with God.

To mark the occasion, believers and non-believers alike gather at cemeteries to remember family members who have passed away and lay flowers and candles at their graves. This tradition is often accompanied by a religious ceremony and a blessing of graves.

The introspective, retrospective nature of this commemorative festival is in stark contrast with the more joyful, popular tradition of Trauliicht, observed the day before All Saints' Day, which is reminiscent of similar festivals elsewhere in the world (such as the Día de Muertos in Mexico).

Trauliicht - Lampions
© Tourist Center ASBL

Trauliicht is none other than the local variant of the well-known festival of Halloween, whose name is derived from All Hallow's Eve (literally the day before All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day).

Both Trauliicht and Halloween can be traced back to ancient festivals and rituals that developed all over Europe to drive away ghosts and offer protection from the souls of the departed and evil spirits - as well as to hold back the impending darkness of winter.

Trauliicht is traditionally observed most in the rocky hills of the Ardennes, in northern Luxembourg, where the festival was widespread until the 1970s. It then experienced a resurgence in the entire country with the rise in popularity of the "Americanised" version of Halloween in the 1990s.

While the two variants share the same roots, Trauliicht has remained a more traditional, less commercial festival than its transatlantic equivalent. Instead of the pumpkins usually associated with Halloween, locals hollow out a beetroot, chisel out a scary face and place a candle inside, before parading it through the village on a stick.

  • Updated 06-12-2018

Allerheiligen und Trauliicht

Gedenken an die Heiligen und Vertreiben von Geistern

Der Herbst, die Jahreszeit des Regens, der fallenden Blätter und der immer kürzer werdenden Tage, ist zwar eher eine Zeit der Ruhe (und Gelassenheit) zwischen den schönen, sonnigen Tagen des Sommers und der weihnachtlichen Feiertage, doch zwei Traditionen bringen Leben in die düsteren Tage: Allerhellegen (Allerheiligen) und Trauliicht, die am religiösen Triduum zwischen dem 31. Oktober und dem 2. November begangen werden.

Toussaint - Cimetière
© Roger Nilles / cathol.lu

Allerheiligen am 1. November ist das Fest aller christlichen Heiligen, darunter auch derer, die nicht kanonisiert wurden oder deren Heiligkeit nur Gott allein kennt. Allerseelen findet am nächsten Tag statt und ist allen Verstorbenen gewidmet, die sich nach der katholischen Doktrin im Fegefeuer befinden und noch nicht vollständig den Bund mit Gott eingegangen sind.

Zu diesem Anlass versammeln sich Gläubige und Nicht-Gläubige auf den Friedhöfen, um Ihrer verstorbenen Angehörigen zu gedenken und Blumen und Kerzen abzulegen. Diese Tradition wird häufig von einer religiösen Zeremonie und einer Segnung der Gräber begleitet.

Tatsächlich steht die intro- und retrospektive Art dieser Gedenkfeier in starkem Kontrast zur fröhlicheren, folkloristischen Tradition des Trauliicht, das am Tag vor Allerheiligen begangen wird (und dessen festliche Art vergleichbar mit ähnlichen Festen wie der Día de Muertos in Mexiko ist).

Trauliicht - Lampions
© Tourist Cent ASBL

Trauliicht ist nichts anderes als die lokale Version des bekannten Halloween-Festes, dessen Name von dem Ausdruck All Hallow's Eve stammt und sich auf Allerheiligen bezieht.

Sowohl Trauliicht als auch Halloween gehen auf althergebrachte Feste und Rituale in ganz Europa zurück, die Geister vertreiben und die Menschen vor den Seelen der Verstorbenen oder bösen Geistern schützen sollten, aber auch helfen sollten, die Dunkelheit des nahenden Winters zu überstehen.

Trauliicht ist traditionell eher in den Felsmassiven der Ardennen im Norden des Landes präsent. Dort war das Fest bis in die 1970er Jahre eine gängige Praxis, bevor es in den 1990er Jahren mit dem Aufkommen der "amerikanisierten" Variante Halloween ein allgemeineres Comeback erlebte.

Beide Varianten teilen zwar dieselben Wurzeln, doch Trauliicht bewahrte sich einen traditionelleren und weniger kommerziellen Charakter als sein Pendant aus Übersee. Die typischen Halloween-Kürbisse wiederum werden durch ausgehöhlte Rüben ersetzt, in die man "Grimassen" schnitzt und die man mit Kerzen erhellt. Diese trägt man mit Hilfe von Stöcken durch die Gegend.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 06-12-2018