Literary institutions

Various public and private institutions devote themselves to nurturing and promoting the literature of the Grand Duchy. A list of the most important ones includes:

National Archives

The National Archives (Archives nationales) store the archives of the Grand Duchy's ministries and public administrations, as well as those of notaries and the courts. Their purpose is to preserve the country's historic heritage. In addition to public archives, the National Archives also contain a large number of private collections.

Public, school, specialised and university libraries

The National Union of Public Libraries (Union luxembourgeoise des bibliothèques publiques, ULBP) publishes a guide to public libraries in the Grand Duchy, which presents the main local and municipal libraries.

The website of the Luxembourgish Librarians', Archivists' and Documentalists' Association (Association luxembourgeoise des bibliothécaires, archivistes et documentalistes, ALBAD) includes a full list of all the public, school and specialised libraries in the Grand Duchy.

Luxembourg National Library (BNL)

The Luxembourg National Library (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg, BNL) is the guardian of the country's printed heritage; it maintains a collection of all the publications printed and published in the Grand Duchy. It also purchases publications relating to Luxembourg or written by Luxembourgers but published abroad. The Luxembourgensia section of the BNL encompasses some 150,000 works.

National Literature Centre (CNL)

The National Literature Centre (Centre national de littérature, CNL), founded in 1955 in Mersch, is both a scientific institution and a documentation centre. Its archives, catalogues, exhibition and lecture rooms, and library are all open to the public. The CNL also publishes many exhibition catalogues and an annual bibliography of Luxembourg literature. The CNL has also become well known for its new editions of classic works. The CNL constantly adds to the services it offers the general public; in 2011, it put the Encyclopaedia of Luxembourg's authors online.

The Grand Ducal Institute

The Grand Ducal Institute (Institut grand-ducal), founded in 1868, has a section for linguistics, ethnology and onomastics, which publishes anthologies covering the various literary genres.

Lëtzebuerger Schrëftstellerverband (LSV)

The 'Lëtzebuerger Schrëftstellerverband' (Luxembourgish Writers' Collective, LSV), a Luxembourgish association of writers created in 1986, is a very lively, committed organisation. The association, which currently has a membership of around 90, is involved mainly in defending the professional, social, legal and cultural interests of authors. It also organises public readings on a regular basis.

Joy of Reading initiative – ('Freed um Liesen')

There are also a number of private organisations, including the 'Freed um Liesen' initiative, devoted to the promotion of Luxembourg literature and reading. Each year since 1999, on the occasion of World Book Day, 'Freed um Liesen' has been producing a themed collection of writings by authors from the Grand Duchy.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Literarische Einrichtungen

Etliche staatliche und private Einrichtungen widmen sich der Pflege und Förderung der luxemburgischen Literatur. Hier eine Liste der wichtigsten:

Nationalarchiv (Archives nationales)

Das Nationalarchiv bewahrt die Archive der Ministerien und öffentlichen Verwaltungen des Großherzogtums Luxemburg sowie jene der Notare und Gerichte auf. Seine Aufgabe ist es, das historische Erbe des Landes zu erhalten. Neben den öffentlichen Archiven besitzt das Nationalarchiv auch eine Vielzahl von Privatbeständen.

Öffentliche und spezialisierte Bibliotheken, Schul- und Universitätsbibliotheken

Der Luxemburgische Verband der öffentlichen Bibliotheken (Union luxembourgeoise des bibliothèques publiques, ULBP) gibt einen Führer der öffentlichen Bibliotheken Luxemburgs heraus, in dem die wichtigsten kommunalen und städtischen Bibliotheken aufgeführt sind.

Die Internetseite des Luxemburgischen Verbands der Bibliothekare, Archivare und Dokumentare (Association luxembourgeoise des bibliothécaires, archivistes et documentalistes, ALBAD) enthält eine umfassende Liste der öffentlichen Bibliotheken, Fachbibliotheken und Schulbibliotheken im Großherzogtum Luxemburg.

Die Luxemburger Nationalbibliothek (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg, BNL)

Die Luxemburger Nationalbibliothek (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg, BNL) ist die Hüterin des gedruckten luxemburgischen Kulturguts und sammelt alle in Luxemburg gedruckten und herausgegebenen Publikationen. Darüber hinaus kauft sie Publikationen, die Luxemburg thematisieren oder von einem luxemburgischen Autor verfasst und im Ausland veröffentlicht wurden. Die Abteilung Luxemburgensia der Luxemburger Nationalbibliothek umfasst somit etwa 150.000 Werke.

Nationales Literaturzentrum (Centre national de littérature, CNL)

Das Nationale Literaturzentrum (Centre national de littérature, CNL), das gleichzeitig Forschungsinstitut und Dokumentationszentrum ist, wurde 1995 in Mersch gegründet. Sein Archiv, seine Kataloge, seine Ausstellungs- und Konferenzräume sowie seine Bibliothek stehen der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung. Ferner ist das CNL als Herausgeber von Ausstellungskatalogen und einer jährlich erscheinenden Bibliografie der luxemburgischen Literatur tätig. Es hat sich zudem einen gewissen Namen bei der Neuauflage von großen Klassikern gemacht. Durch die Online-Schaltung des Luxemburger Autorenlexikon (Dictionnaire des auteurs luxembourgeois) 2011 erweitert das CNL sein Angebot für die Bürger ständig.

Großherzogliches Institut (Institut grand-ducal)

Das Großherzogliche Institut wurde 1868 gegründet und hat eine Abteilung Sprachwissenschaft, Ethnologie und Namenskunde, die sich mit der Veröffentlichung von Anthologien über die verschiedenen literarischen Genres befasst.

Initiative Freude am Lesen - Freed um Liesen

Zusätzlich haben sich private Organisationen wie beispielsweise die Initiative "Freed um Liesen" der Werbung für luxemburgische Literatur und der Förderung des Lesens verschrieben. Seit 1999 gibt diese Vereinigung zu Ehren des Welttages des Buches jährlich eine thematische Sammlung von Texten luxemburgischer Schriftsteller heraus.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 21-03-2018