Iron and steel industry

Luxembourg owes its wealth to the presence of a powerful steel industry which had its golden years in the mid-20th century. However, following the steel crisis of the 1970s, the iron and steel industry was no longer the driving force of the Luxembourg economy.

Presently, the headquarters of several world leaders are located in the Grand Duchy: ArcelorMittal, leader in the world-wide steel production; Aperam, world leader in the stainless steel production; and Paul Wurth, one of the world leaders in the design and implementation of mechanical equipment and systems and methods for blast furnaces.

The early days of industry in Luxembourg, dating back to the middle of the 19th century, were dominated by steel production. Luxembourg owes its wealth largely to the discovery of iron ore in the south at the end of the 19th century, which gave rise to a powerful steel industry. This success cannot be dissociated from ARBED.

For a long time, the iron and steel industry was the locomotive of Luxembourg's economy, until the beginning of the steel crisis in the 1970s. The following figures speak for themselves:

  • in 1960, the iron and steel industry contributed to 31% of the Luxembourg GDP;
  • in 1974, the final year of the 'thirty glorious years' (1945-1975), the steelworks and iron ore mines employed around 25,000 people equating to 16% of the total workforce of the Luxembourg economy.

However, with the oil shock of 1973 and the ensuing crisis of the European steel industry, the predominance of this pillar of the Luxembourg economy was deeply challenged. The iron and steel industry could only survive through a profound state-led reorganisation, particularly through the establishment of investment aid. The last blast furnace in Luxembourg was shut down in 1997, marking a shift from the cast-iron furnace the to electric furnace steel production.

In 2002, ARBED (Aciéries réunies de Burbach, Eich, Dudelange, United Steelworks of Burbach, Eich, Dudelange), the 'giant' Luxembourg steel producer, merged with two other steel companies, Usinor and Aceralia, to become Arcelor, the world leader in steel production. Arcelor merged with Mittal Steel in 2006, creating the ArcelorMittal group, the world's number one steel producer. Its headquarters are in Luxembourg. Today, ArcelorMittal has an industrial presence in over 20 countries on four continents. In Luxembourg, the company operates 11 manufacturing sites. Since early 2011, the stainless steel division of ArcelorMittal has been operating as an independent company under the name of Aperam. The company is a global leader in stainless steel and has its headquarters in Luxembourg.

Luxembourg is also the headquarters of Paul Wurth, one of the world leaders in the design and implementation of mechanical equipment and systems and methods for blast furnaces.

  • Updated 21-03-2018

Eisen- und Stahlindustrie

Luxemburg verdankt seinen Reichtum der mächtigen Eisen- und Stahlindustrie, die ihre Glanzzeit Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts erlebte. Seit der Stahlkrise in den 70er Jahren gilt die Eisen- und Stahlindustrie nicht mehr als Zugpferd der luxemburgischen Wirtschaft.

Trotzdem haben mehrere weltweit operierende Stahlunternehmen ihren Sitz in Luxemburg: ArcelorMittal, weltweit größter Stahlproduzent, Aperam, weltweit größter Edelstahlproduzent, und Paul Wurth, einer der weltweiten Marktführer im Bereich der Planung und Umsetzung von mechanischen Ausrüstungen und Systemen sowie Verfahren für Hochöfen.

Die Anfänge der luxemburgischen Industrie, die bis in die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts zurückreichen, sind vor allem von der Eisen- und Stahlindustrie geprägt. Luxemburg verdankt seinen Reichtum größtenteils der Entdeckung von Eisenerz im Süden des Landes durch die Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts eine mächtige Eisen- und Stahlindustrie entstanden ist. Dieser Erfolg ist untrennbar mit der ARBED verbunden.

Die Eisen- und Stahlindustrie war lange Zeit das Zugpferd der luxemburgischen Wirtschaft, musste diese Rolle aber nach der Stahlkrise in den 70er Jahren abgeben. Die Zahlen sprechen für sich:

  • 1960 erwirtschaftete die Eisen- und Stahlindustrie 31 % des nationalen BIP;
  • 1974, dem letzten der „dreißig glorreichen Jahre” (1945-1975), beschäftigte sie etwa 25.000 Personen, was 16 % der nationalen Beschäftigungsquote ausmachte.

Mit der ersten Ölkrise von 1973 und ihren Folgen für die europäische Eisen-und Stahlindustrie wurde die Vorherrschaft dieses Stützpfeilers der luxemburgischen Wirtschaft jedoch ernsthaft in Frage gestellt. Die Eisen- und Stahlindustrie konnte nur dank tiefgehender staatlicher Umstrukturierungen, und insbesondere dank der Einführung von Investitionsbeihilfen, gerettet werden. Der letzte Hochofen des Landes erlosch im Jahr 1997 mit dem Übergang vom Hochofen- zum Elektrostahlverfahren.

2002 fusionierte die ARBED (Aciéries réunies de Burbach, Eich, Dudelange, Vereinigte Stahlwerke von Burbach, Eich, Düdelingen), der luxemburgische „Stahlriese”, mit den zwei Stahlkonzernen Usinor und Aceralia zu Arcelor, dem weltweit größten Stahlproduzenten. Durch die Fusion zwischen Arcelor und Mittal Steel im Jahr 2006 entstand der ArcelorMittal-Konzern, der im Stahlsektor weltweit auf Platz eins rangiert und seinen Gesellschaftssitz in Luxemburg hat. ArcelorMittal ist in mehr als 20 Ländern auf 4 Kontinenten vertreten. In Luxemburg betreibt der Konzern 11 Produktionsstandorte. Seit Anfang 2011 ist die Edelstahlabteilung von ArcelorMittal als selbstständige Gesellschaft unter dem Namen Aperam tätig. Die Gesellschaft ist einer der weltweiten Marktführer im Bereich des Edelstahls und hat ihren Sitz in Luxemburg.

Auch die Gesellschaft Paul Wurth, einer der weltweiten Marktführer im Bereich der Planung und Umsetzung von mechanischen Ausrüstungen und Systemen und Verfahren für Hochöfen, hat ihren Sitz in Luxemburg

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 21-03-2018