Student life

What to expect when studying in Luxembourg
Vie estudiantine

Situated in the heart of Europe and the Greater Region, in between the pleasures of life, the culture and the high-end infrastructures, your student life in Luxembourg will be a unique and memorable experience!

Transportation and connectivity

When it comes to mobility for students, you could hardly find better: All public transports in Luxembourg are free for all students enrolled in the Grand-Duchy, no matter the type of transportation. The bus and train network covers the entirety of the country and special services are provided at night or for big events. Furthermore, the new tram line facilitates mobility between the city and Kirchberg.

Beyond the borders, international connexions are also well developed. As Luxembourg is situated at the center of Europe and the Greater Region, the neighbour countries are easily and rapidly reachable by train, bus or car, often under half an hour. For destinations that are further away, strategic airports like Luxembourg airport, Frankfurt, Frankfurt-Hahn, Charleroi, Lorraine airport or Saarbrucken airport are only a stone's throw away.

Culture and nightlife

The nightlife and weekend activities are of course an important part of student life. And in Luxembourg, there is a offer for every taste!

  • Our theatres, concert halls and cultural centers feature richly packed programs that are affordable for every culture enthusiast. Boredom is an unknown word during summer holidays, as there is an abundance of festivals and open air concerts all throughout the country.
  • For party weekends or after-uni evenings, a range of cafes, bars, terraces and clubs are spread across Luxembourg-city's main nightlife areas, being the Alstad(old town), the Grund, Clausen and Hollerich.
  • Esch-sur-Alzette, the city where the Belval campus is situated, is also becoming a very popular and cosmopolite area. In the center, a variety of bars can be found, the 'Kulturfabrik' is hosting concerts and plays of all kinds and the 'Rockhal', the biggest concert venue in the country, regularly welcomes international superstars.

Living costs

All these aspects seem amazing, but what are the costs of studying in Luxembourg you ask? It is difficult to give a precise estimation of the average living costs as a student, as they can vary drastically according to personal needs, taste and situations. However, you can find an approximate estimation of average costs per person per month below, gathered from information available on the sitesExpatistananduni.lu:

Enrolment at the University of Luxembourg

70 € / month for semesters 1 and 2

35 € / month for semesters 3 to 6

Housing in university accommodation

380 € / month (600 € for private accommodation)

Meal in university refectory

150 - 200€

Phone bill

20 - 30 €

Internet (private housing)

60 €

Supermarket

130 - 200 €

Nightlife, restaurants, culture

200 - 250€

Fitness

40 - 60 €

Hygiene and health

20 - 30 €

School supplies (books, copies...)

20 €

Hobbies, miscellaneous, shopping...

100 - 150 €


 

Depending on your lifestyle and additional consumption needs, you should plan a budget of 800 – 1.500 euros per month. You can find information on financial help and other financing possibilities here.

  • Updated 09-11-2018

Studentenleben

Was Sie als Student in Luxemburg erwartet
Vie estudiantine

Im Herzen Europas und der Großregion gelegen, bietet Luxemburg seinen Studenten reichlich Kulturelles und gute Infrastrukturen.

 

Transport und Verbindungen

In Sachen Mobilität, könnte man es nicht besser treffen; der gesamte öffentliche Transport in Luxemburg ist uneingeschränkt kostenlos für alle im Großherzogtum eingeschriebenen Studenten. Die Zug- und Busnetze decken die gesamte Fläche des Landes ab. Spezielle Nachtfahrten oder Spezialfahrten anlässlich großer Events komplettieren das ohnehin schon umfassende Angebot. Außerdem erleichtert die neue Tram den Verkehr zwischen der Stadt und dem Kirchberg.

Aber auch über die Grenzen hinaus ist Luxemburg hervorragend an die Verkehrsnetze seiner Nachbarländer angebunden. Im Herzen Europas und der Großregion sind die drei Nachbarländer einfach und schnell per Zug, Bus oder mit dem Auto zu erreichen. Meist fährt man nicht Länger als eine halbe Stunde, um die Grenzen des Landes zu überqueren. Wen es weiter weg zieht, der erreicht in kürzester Zeit die Flughäfen in Luxemburg, Frankfurt, Frankfurt-Hahn, Charleroi, Lothringen oder Saarbrücken.

 

Kultur und Ausgehen

Ein vergnüglicher Abend oder eine ausgelassene Feier am Wochenende gehören aber sicherlich auch zum Studentenleben dazu. Und im Großherzogtum werden alle Stundenten fündig!

  • Verschiedene Theater, Konzertsäle und Kulturzentren bieten ein abwechslungsreiches Programm für alle Kulturinteressierten. Während der gesamten Sommerferien sorgt ein prall gefülltes Programm an Festivals und Freiluftkonzerten für die nötige Unterhaltung.
  • An den Wochenenden oder für After-Uni-Abende locken die Cafés, Bars und Clubs der Stadt Luxemburg die feierwütigen Studenten und Nachteulen in die Stadtteile Altstadt ("Alstad"), Grund, Clausen oder Hollerich.
  • Aber auch Esch-Alzette, Heimatstadt des Campus Belval, gewinnt zunehmend an Popularität. Mehrere Bars schmücken das Stadtzentrum, die "Kulturfabrik" gibt regelmäßig Konzerte und Theateraufführungen zum Besten und die "Rockhal", als größter Konzertsaal Luxemburgs, empfängt immer wieder weltbekannte Musiker und Bands.

Lebenshaltungskosten

All dies klingt sicherlich verlockend, doch was kostet das Studentenleben in Luxemburg? Da jeder Student seine eigenen Vorlieben und Gewohnheiten pflegt, ist es relativ schwierig, eine genaue Summe zu nennen. Hier jedoch einige Schätzungen von Expatisan und uni.lu zu den unterschiedlichen Kostenpunkten pro Monat:

Einschreibegebühr an der Universität Luxemburg

70 € / Monat für die Semester 1 und 2

35 € / Monat für die Semester 3 bis 6

Studentenwohnheime

380 € / Monat (600 € für private Wohnungen)

Mittagessen in der Mensa

150 -200€

Telefon

20 - 30 €

Internet (private Unterkunft)

60 €

Supermarkt

130 - 200 €

Ausgehen, Gastronomie, Kultur

200 - 250€

Fitnessstudio

40 - 60 €

Hygiene und Gesundheit

20 - 30 €

Lehrmaterial (Bücher, Fotokopien, usw.)

20 €

Freizeit, Einkäufe ...

100 - 150 €


 

Je nach Lebensstil und sonstigen Ausgaben kann man also mit 800-1.500 Euro pro Monat rechnen. Erfahren Sie mehr über Studienbeihilfen und andere Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 09-11-2018