Student accommodation

How to find an adequate place to live
key1

One of the biggest challenges for future students is finding suitable accommodation. It doesn't matter if you prefer to live in student halls, shared flats or private accommodation, in Luxembourg there are options for everyone.

Making the right choice

Choosing the right accommodation is one of the most important decisions for students to make, as the rent is a major part of the budget. That is why the universities and the Luxembourgish authorities make considerable efforts to set up a range of attractive and affordable accommodation offers that meet the needs of every type of student. A number of aspects play an important role, such as price, location, spaciousness or equipment. Often situated in the middle of residential areas, student accommodations are not only offering a good quality of life, but also allowing students to integrate fully into society and have intercultural encountersYou can find more information on living costs on our 'Student life' page.

Accommodation provided by the University of Luxembourg

If you are a student at the University of Luxembourg, you have the possibility to reside in one of the student halls or shared student flats. The university currently has a range of 36 halls located in the center and in the south of the country. The offer is expanding constantly to be able to suit all the students' needs. It is important to know that there is a limited amount of accommodation places and hall residency is not automatically granted. This is why one has to fill out the online application for accommodation as early as possible. The accommodation types vary in size and price. The Students' Department ('Service des études et de la vie étudiante', SEVEat the University of Luxembourg accompanies students from their enrollment to their graduation day, and even beyond.

Other types of accommodation

Apart from student halls, students can also rent a private flat. There are a range of other private and international universities in Luxembourg. These universities also offer their students different accommodation options. Some foreign students, as for example those attending the Miami University Dolibois European Center , can chose to live with a local host family for the time of their stay in Luxembourg. You can find further information on the sites of the respective universities.

  • Updated 09-11-2018

Studentenwohnungen

Eine adäquate Wohnung finden
key1

Eine der größten Herausforderungen für Studenten ist es, eine anständige Wohnung zu finden. Ob die Wahl jetzt auf ein Zimmer im Studentenheim, auf eine private Wohnung oder auf eine WG fällt, in Luxemburg gibt es Angebote für alle Bedürfnisse.

Die gute Wahl treffen

Die Wahl der Wohnung ist eines der wichtigsten Themen für Studenten, da die Miete ein Großteil des Budgets ausmacht. Deswegen scheut die Universität und das Land keine Mühe, um ein attraktives und bezahlbares Wohnungsangebot für jeden Studententyp zu schaffen. Dabei spielen eine Reihe von Elementen, wie der Preis, die Lage, die Größe oder die Ausstattung, eine wichtige Rolle. Oft in Wohnvierteln gelegen, bieten die Wohnungen nicht nur Lebensqualität, sondern ermöglichen es auch den Bewohnern, sich in das Leben im Land zu integrieren und interkulturelle Begegnungen zu machen. Sie können zusätzliche Informationen über Lebenskosten in unserer Rubrik finden.

Wohnungen der Universität Luxemburg

Wenn Sie an der Uni Luxemburg eingeschrieben sind, haben Sie die Möglichkeit in den Wohnresidenzen der Universität oder in Studentenwohnungen einzuziehen. Zurzeit stellt die Universität 36 Residenzen im Zentrum und im Süden des Landes zur Verfügung. Dieses Angebot wird ständig erweitert, um den Studierenden eine möglichst große Auswahl zu bieten. Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass die Anzahl der Zimmer begrenzt ist und diese nicht automatisch allen Eingeschriebenen zugewiesen werden. Deswegen ist es notwendig, einen online Antrag so früh wie möglich auszufüllen. Die Wohnungsangebote der Uni unterscheiden sich in Größe und Preis  Das Studierendensekretariat (Service des études et de la vie étudiante, SEVE) begleitet die Studierenden von der Immatrikulation bis zur Diplomverleihung und sogar darüber hinaus.

Andere Wohnmöglichkeiten

Abgesehen von den Studentenwohnheimen können die Studierenden auch private Wohnungen mieten. Neben der Universität von Luxemburg gibt es auch noch eine Reihe private und internationale Universitäten in Luxemburg. Diese Universitäten bieten verschiedene Optionen an, um ihren Studenten das Wohnen zu vereinfachen. Manche ausländische Studenten, wie beispielsweise die der Europäischen Fakultät der John E. Dolibois Universität aus Miami, können während ihres Aufenthaltes in Luxemburg bei einer Gastfamilie wohnen. Mehr Informationen finden Sie auf den Webseiten der Universitäten.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 09-11-2018