Universities

Internationality, excellence and diversity: University education in Luxembourg is internationally acclaimed.
Université

Do you consider studying in Luxembourg? Not only is there a diverse selection of higher education institutions in the country, but the cultural and social environment will make you enjoy your student life to the fullest. The University of Luxembourg, globally renowned for being multilingual, international and research driven, welcomes many national and international students. Furthermore, a range of private and international universities offer a wide choice of diplomas and programs for every need.

The University of Luxembourg

The university stands out because of the amount and quality of the different available programmes. Founded only 15 years ago, it is the only public university in Luxembourg. It has three faculties across the country:

  • The Faculty of Science, Technology and Communication in Luxembourg-Kirchberg;
  • the Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education in Esch-Belval;
  • the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance, including the Luxembourg School of Finance, situated in Luxembourg-Limpertsberg.

Leading the Times Higher Education(THE) and U-Multirank rankings in terms of internationality, the university of Luxembourg is acquiring a worldwide reputation.

An European university


The University of Luxembourg embodies the European idea: Situated in the heart of the European Union, it is a multilingual and international institution(53% of international students). The programmes are either bilingual or trilingual (French, German, English) or entirely held in English. Moreover, some bachelor and master programs are of bi- or even tri-national disposition.

Research, especially in IT, biomedicine, European law and science of education, is approached in a very interdisciplinary manner and is a main focus of the young university, contributing to its popularity. Adding to it, the collaboration with a variety of financial institutions and businesses facilitates the students' transition into the professional world.

Private and international universities

Apart from the University of Luxembourg there are also a wide range of private and international universities in the country:

  • The Sacred Heart University Luxembourg, also accredited AACSB, is an US American university specialised in business and management. It tightly collaborates with a range of Luxembourgish businesses.
  • The Lunex University is specialised in sport, motricity, therapy and preventive medicine.  Located in Differdange, it offers bachelor and master courses in physical therapy and sport management which are recognised on an European scale.

Long distance studying

For those wishing to study long distance, there are a variety of institutions offering correspondence courses. Amongst others:

  • The Open University Luxembourg, established through a cooperation between the Chamber of Employees and the British Open University, has bachelor and master programmes in English. Most popular are the administration and IT management programmes.
  • The'École Supérieure Ouverte à Distance', accreditedIACBE, has human resource, communication, marketing, business strategy, finance, tourism, hospitality and environmental security programmes at bachelor and master level. It is a member of the European Federation of Schools(FEDE).
  • Updated 09-11-2018

Die Universitäten

Internationalität, Exzellenz und Diversität: Die universitäre Ausbildung in Luxemburg muss sich nicht vor der internationalen Konkurrenz verstecken.
Université

Überlegen Sie sich in Luxemburg zu studieren? Das Land bietet Ihnen nicht nur eine Auswahl diverser anerkannter Hochschulen, sondern kann auch mit seinen kulturellen und sozialen Angeboten auftrumpfen, welche sicherlich Ihr studentisches Leben in Luxemburg bereichern. Die Universität Luxemburg, ihr Multilinguismus, ihre internationale Ausrichtung sowie ihre Fokussierung auf Forschungsarbeit ziehen jährlich eine Vielzahl sowohl nationaler als auch internationaler Studenten an. Darüber hinaus beherbergt Luxemburg auch eine breite Palette privater und internationaler Universitäten, welche das Angebot an Studiengängen und Diplomen ergänzen.

Die Universität Luxemburg

Die Universitätsausbildung profiliert sich durch ein üppiges Angebot hochqualitativer Programme und Studiengänge. Die gerade mal 15 Jahre alte Universität ist die einzige öffentliche Universität Luxemburgs. Ihre 3 Fakultäten sind über das ganze Land verteilt:

  • Die Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften, Technologie und Kommunikation in Luxemburg-Kirchberg;
  • Die Fakultät für Sprachwissenschaften und Literatur, Geisteswissenschaften, Kunst und Erziehungswissenschaften in Esch-Belval;
  • die Fakultät für Rechts-, Wirtschafts- und Finanzwissenschaften und die dazugehörige Luxembourg School of Finance in Luxemburg-Limpertsberg.

An vorderster Front in den Rankings Times Higher Education (THE) und U-Multirank, und sogar an erster Stelle im Bereich internationale Perspektiven, genießt die Universität Luxemburg weltweites Ansehen.

Eine europäische Universität


Die Universität Luxemburg repräsentiert vollends den europäischen Gedanken: multilingual und international ausgerichtet, beherbergt die im Herzen der Europäischen Union gelegene Universität rund 53% ausländische Studierende. Die Studiengänge sind meist zwei- oder dreisprachig (Französisch, Deutsch und Englisch) oder aber ganz auf Englisch. Weiterhin sind manche Bachelor- oder Masterstudien gar grenzüberschreitend organisiert, entweder bi- oder trinational.

Die Forschung, besonders in den Bereichen Informatik, Biomedizin, europäischen Recht und Erziehungswissenschaften, sowie die interdisziplinare Herangehensweise erklären die Popularität der jungen Universität. Aber auch die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Institutionen und den in Luxemburg ansässigen internationalen Finanzunternehmen, erlauben es den Studierenden, schon während ihres Studiums, in den entsprechenden Berufsfeldern ein wenig zu schnuppern.

Private und internationale Universitäten

Neben der Universität Luxemburg haben sich aber auch eine ganze Reihe ausländische und private Unis in Luxemburg niedergelassen.

  • Die Sacred Heart University Luxembourg, ebenfalls Mitglied der AACSB, ist eine amerikanische Universität mit den Schwerpunkten Management und Handel. Sie arbeitet eng mit verschiedenen luxemburgischen Unternehmen zusammen.
  • Die Lunex University ist eine private Universität mit den Fachgebieten Sport, Motorik und Gesundheit.  Sie befindet sich in Differdingen und bietet verschiedene Studiengänge mit Bachelor- und Masterabschluss in Physiotherapie und Sportmanagement an.

Fernstudien

Aber auch wer sich für ein Fernstudium entscheidet, wird in Luxemburg fündig. Da wären:

  • Die Open University Luxemburg, eine Kooperation zwischen der Arbeitnehmerkammer und der Open University der Grande-Bretagne, bietet Bachelor- und Masterstudien auf Englisch an. Die Studiengänge Betriebswirtschaft, Management und Informatik werden am meisten besucht.
  • Die École Supérieure Ouverte à Distance, IACBE-akkreditiert, bietet Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge in Personalwesen, Kommunikation, Marketing, Unternehmensstrategie, Bank- und Finanzwesen, Tourismus und Hotellerie sowie Sicherheit und Umwelt an. Sie ist Mitglied der Europäischen Schulföderation ("Fédération européenne des écoles").
  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 09-11-2018