Financial aid

How to finance your studies
money2

In Luxembourg, like everywhere else, studying has its price: Enrollment fees, accommodation costs, expenses of study material... But don't worry: There is a variety of financial aid that can help you finance your academic journey.

Financial aid by the state

The Luxembourgish state, through the Cedies ('Centre de documentation et d'information sur les études supérieures'), grants financial aid to resident and non-resident students who fulfill the conditions for obtaining it. The aid is a package consisting of different bursaries (basic bursary, mobility bursary, social and family bursaries, inscription fee relief), to which a student loan can be added to optionally. Depending on the individual situation, on the available revenue and the financial help provided by the parents, the accorded financial aid varies from individual to individual.

Financial aid for research

There are several tools which aim to support researchers. The AFR individual programme run by the national research fund (FNR) is aimed at researchers seeking a doctoratein the Grand Duchy, as well as to Luxembourg residents seeking to pursue a doctorate abroad. Other institutions offer mobility bursaries to researchers who want to come to Luxembourg.

Other bursaries

There are several private institutions offering awards or financial aid to students according to either their specialisation or according to results obtained.

Furthermore, students residing in certain municipalities can be granted awards by local authorities according to their performances.

The Erasmus programme, funded by the European Union, allows students enrolled at the University of Luxembourg to study at another European university for up to 12 months. In that case, students may be granted financial aid by their host country, as well as the aid received from Luxembourg, but of course subject to the rules and regulations for obtaining the financial aid in the respective countries.

  • Updated 12-11-2018

Finanzielle Unterstützung

Wie finanziere ich meine Studien?
money2

In Luxemburg, wie auch im Rest der Welt, bringt ein Studium auch einige Kosten mit sich: Einschreibegebühren, Wohnkosten, Lernmaterial, usw. Aber kein Grund zur Beunruhigung: eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Unterstützungen können Ihnen helfen während Ihrer akademischen Laufbahn über die Runden zu kommen.

Finanzielle Beihilfen des Luxemburger Staats:

Der Luxemburger Staat und sein Dokumentations- und Informationszentrum für die Hochschulbildung (Cedies) gewährt finanzielle Beihilfen für gebietsansässige und nicht-gebietsansässige Studierende, welche die nötigen Vorraussetzungen erfüllen. Das Angebot setzt sich aus verschidenen Stipendien zusammen (Grundstipendium, Mobilitätsstipendium, Sozialstipendium, Familienstipendium, Beihilfe für die Einschreibungskosten). Zusätzlich können die Studierenenden auch einen Studentenkredit aufnehmen. Unabhängig vom Einkommen der Eltern, bezieht jeder Student der die Kriterien erfüllt ein Grundstipendium, welches dann je nach der persönlichen Situation um weitere Stipendien und Beihilfen in unterschiedlicher Höhe erweitert werden kann.

Finanzielle Forschungsbeihilfen

Mehrere Maßnahmen fördern gezielt die Forscher. So beispielsweise das Programm AFR individual des Nationalen Forschungsfonds (FNR), welches sich an Doktoranden im In- und Ausland richtet. Andere Institutionen bieten Mobilitätsstipendien für in Luxemburg arbeitende Forscher an, oder jene, die planen im Großherzogtum tätig zu werden.

Sonstige Studienbeihilfen

Mehrere private Institutionen bieten Anreizprämien oder Unterstütztungsstipendien für Studenten bestimmter Fachrichtungen oder mit herausragenden Leistungen:

Weiterhin können Studenten verschiedener Gemeinden auch von Anreizprämien der Gemeindeverwaltung profitieren,

Das Erasmus-Programm wird von der Europäischen Union finanziert und erlaubt es den Studenten der Universität Luxemburg während bis zu 12 Monaten ihre Studien an einer anerkannten Hochschule im europäischen Ausland fortzusetzen. In diesem Fall können die Studenten in ihrem neuen Gastgeberland ebenfalls Studienbeihilfen anfragen, welche mit den Beihilfen des Luxemburger Staates kumulierbar sind. Hierbei gilt es aber die Kriterien und Regeln des Gastgeberlandes zu beachten.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 12-11-2018